We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.91*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here as a break from driving and had a great time. We made it through the maze and found each corner and the way back out after a lot of frustrating fun. The illusions building was also very interesting. This would be great for kids in early teens, but older would enjoy it as well, they just might not admit it as we all know.

Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Justin,

Thanks for your awesome review!

I'm really glad you decided to stopped in after a long drive, we always say we offer a great way to stretch the legs (maze) and stretch the mind (puzzles/illusions)!

You're spot on in saying that we surprise adults by entertaining them too - we get a few who admit they're mistake - see multiple examples here :)

We hope to see you again at PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    584
    114
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for all ages including just adults!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had stayed overnight at Lake Wanaka and visited the next morning, unsure whether it would really be a place for families, rather than a couple. But we had a ball. It is interesting and fun - not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Shailer,

Thanks for your great review!

That's a common misconception that we're always happy to dispel. Many adult visitors are surprised just how much enjoyment and interest they get from what is on offer here, so I'm really glad you made the call to drop by

We look forward to seeing you again at PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth spending a day there”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Its amazing , can spend a whole day.. please do not miss this if you are in Wanaka... I almost missed it and would have regretted it big time

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrGNagaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Dr G,

Thanks for short but brilliant review!

Yep, people often spend a lot longer here because they're having so much brain-stimulating fun :)

I'm really glad you chose to stop in and visit us and look forward to seeing you back at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun for big kids too”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lots to see, plenty of laughs, we did the maze in 40 minutes, we are awesome!
Take your time going through all the displays, a big crowd can sometimes push you along, but step back and take it in, there's lots to see.
Don't bother with the coffee, it was pretty naf, but you're not going for the food.
Sit and do some of the puzzles on the tables, and when you're feeling really dumb cos you cant solve them, a friendly 14-year old will come along and help you! Stoopid sheep puzzle...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Austenette,

Thanks for your excellent review!

40 mins to complete the maze - I agree, it's definately better than average, well done

I'm really glad you were able to take all in the illusions despite the other bodies surrounding you, and it sounds like you were willing to accept help when all else failed on the puzzles - that's what we're here for!

Sorry about the coffee, it's usually fairly consistent but sometimes one of the 3 machines has been known to go a bit weak on us :(

We look forward to seeing you again at PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fun for young families!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My friends and I stopped in at Puzzling World on our way back from Queenstown, I did feel as though this attraction is best suited for children, but I found the Ames Room and the Tilted House to be most intriguing, the Roman-Style Toilets did give me a little fright - I almost apologised, thinking I had walked into the wrong room! The maze wasn't exciting at all.

There is a puzzle centre, cafe and gift shop on site. Overall, I didn't see this attraction to be a total waste of money, but would have enjoyed it more as a kid.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Sarah,

Thanks for your honest review

It would seem mazes aren't aren't your thing - I'd be suprised if "exciting" was a common reaction to the maze - "fun/intrigue/frustration" is what's usually encountered!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the Roman Loos, Ames and Tilted rooms so much - simple but very effective illusions.

It seems you've disagreed with all the above reviewers re- "all ages" suitability so maybe we'll see you back with your own kids/grandkids one day :)


Kind regards,

Duncan
Puzzling World, Wanaka, NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing