We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun”
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.23*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #2 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The kids loved Puzzling World. The Illusion Rooms were super fun, especially the room on an angle where up is down and down is up... or something! It was amazing. The maze was fun and took us way longer than expected. We all spent ages in the cafe area trying to do the large range of puzzles on the tables. Some were super frustrating but lots of fun. Great fun!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Dale,

Thanks a lot for your awesome review!

If I could sum up your experience in one word (given you used it five times!) it would be "fun" which is exactly the response we love to see!

Great to see you got such enjoyment out of all that we offer and we hope to see you all back at PW soon :)

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    591
    119
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Kids will love the place. The hologram collection is amazing. The illusions are well designed. The maze is not the best, but surely entertaining and keeps the kids going around. Not too expensive too

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Vowie,

Thanks a lot for your great review!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the Illusion Rooms so much (Adults too!)and though the maze maybe wasn't your thing at least you got the kids tired out!

We hope to see you all back at PW soon :)

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for families”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having recently moved to Wanaka, we really enjoyed it here. Kids were quite amazed with everything around here, also has been a new addition here, with more mind bending things. Seriously good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mikeinwanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi Mike,

Thanks for your awesome review and welcome to the neighbourhood :)

I'm really glad you and the kids were amazed at what you saw and "seriously good" is a fantastic compliment!

Stoked that you loved the new room too

We look forward to seeing back at PW soon!

Kind regards

Duncan Spear
Marketing Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spend a Few Hours Here!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Puzzling World, and we were interested to see the new extension. We spent about $50 for a family pass, which included the Maze. It was still interesting to see the original illusions, even though we had seen them before. The new extension was good too. There is a cafe for light snacks and drinks. Due to the 30 degree heat on the day we visited, we decided to give the maze a miss, but spent some time at the puzzle tables in the entrance instead. This isn't something we did last time, and was quite enjoyable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kp2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi kp,

Thanks a lot for your fantastic review!

We always love it when repeat customers return and have not just a "good as last time"experience but a better one!

Great to see you such enjoyment out of the old and new rooms and we hope to see you back at PW soon to take the maze on again :)

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun place to be”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First time visiting this kind of puzzling world. Even though it is not very big but it has a variety of interesting puzzle in it for you to solve.

There is outdoor and indoor puzzle for you to explore. The entrance fee is not so expensive and expect to spend around 3-4 hours at this place if you would like to explore everything here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi lw,

Thanks a lot for your great review!

It sounds like you had a crack at everything on offer and not only enjoyed it, but also enjoyed the low costs and lengthy entertainment

We hope to see you back at PW soon :)

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing