We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break Away”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Travelled from Christchurch for a break away & to refresh after a massive head cold. I had 3 wonderful days based here. Slept the best in a long time - great beds and quiet environment. Mine Hosts: Bruce & Charlotte are full of information about the area & what is happening in town at the time.. Also know where to dine!! - most important.
I left Wanaka after 3 days of relaxing feeling the most refreshed for a long time - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    42
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
61
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n.z
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I am sorry to report that the beds were very hard, unit was very tidy and comfortable, bathroom clean and tidy, but carpets could do with a clean. Yes was handle to town to walk down to lake foreshore, then head out for tea. Beautiful time of year to travel down Central Otago.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwis002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Reasonably well equipped and comfortable motel. Walking distance from town centre. Basic but well proven layout. Very helpful and welcoming management. Wifi credit and offered more if needed which was good, all free. Relaxing one night stay. All in all safe bet at an affordable price but never going to have the memorable wow factor, but who cares for one night.

Room Tip: From what we could judge all were good location, plenty of parking so don't panic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpinemotelwanaka, Manager at Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are endeavouring to upgrade the motel, and hopefully, we will add a bit of the" wow factor" as we go along.

Kind regards

Bruce McPhail
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Even though the Alpine Motel is a little outdated, the facilities were more than adequate and very comfortable. The motel is less than 5 mins walk to the lake and main streets of Wanaka so is ideally located, even if there is no lake view. We were warmly welcomed and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are rooms further from the road if you wish to have a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stay here for two nights just before New Years. We got a cheaper rate because our room did not have a view but we quite enjoyed the room as it was very private and there was no street noise. The kitchen was very suitable and the bathroom was nice and clean. Easy walking distance to town and very friendly hosts. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosieej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If it is a budget motel you are looking for, then look no further. The Alpine Motel is a 70s/80s construction with decor to suit. Even the walls are concrete block. The bathrooms are terrible with nowhere to put things around the sink and a shower curtain across what is a low pressure shower. The microwave is a genuine antique!

One thing I will say is it was quiet where we were, which was in one of the kitchenette studio units at the back. Apparently there is a modernisation programme but we saw no sign of that in those units.

The motel is well placed in relation to town facilities, with a short walk to the lake and central Wanaka, there is also plenty of easy parking.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a joining door. The back units are much quieter than the front units which face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had spent one night in Wanaka on our way back from Fox Glacier. The place is run by a couple, who are wonderful people. They gave us all the information about Wanaka and the tourist locations around. The place is well kept and the room comes with a small kitchen and a sink. There is also a kettle, microwave,gas and necessary utensils for cooking which was very surprising. The whole place is made up of wood and gives the feeling of being in the Alpine hotels of Switzerland. The scenery around is just breathtaking overlooking the lake Wanaka. There is also a big supermarket to buy essentials for cooking. Overall a memorable experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments

Property: Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Address: 7 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments is located at the entrance to Wanaka town centre, an easy 5 minute walk will see you in the heart of the town, where lots of cafés and restaurants are situated and access to the beach side of beautiful Lake Wanaka. Our Studio Units and One and Two Bedroom Family Apartments are spacious, warm, and comfortable. We offer our guests FREE WiFi 5GB per day, heat pumps/air conditioning in all apartments, daily room servicing, children's play area, BBQ in our seated garden area, guest laundry with a separate drying/waxing room, and plenty of free off-street parking. Under new management since July 2015 your host Derek and his team warmly invite all new and returning guests and will assist you in any way they can ensure your stay with us in 'paradise' is an enjoyable one. Wanaka, located in Central Otago, New Zealand is known for its scenic beauty and variety of activities that attracts many visitors every year. Wanaka has a host of activities to entertain all travellers including Puzzling World, Transport and Toy Museum, Warbirds and Wheels Display, Tandem Paragliding, Sky Diving, Jet Boating, Paradiso or Rubys Cinema, Scenic Flights, Mini Golf, Shooting Range, Wanaka Beerworks and many local wineries are worthy of a visit. Should you wish to explore the beauty that makes Wanaka truly unique there are plenty of walks/bike tracks around the lake front or visit the local Department of Conservation (directly opposite our office) to discover all the local walking/tramping tracks. A full range of brochures is available in our reception area detailing all Wanaka and Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Wanaka
Alpine Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing