We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights, the rooms were spacious, they had big bathrooms, and comfortable beds. The best part about this motel is the location, so close to all the shops including the supermarket which is right behind it! The owners are lovely and are ready to give great advice, they are skiers themselves and they gave us great recommendations about the mountains and restaurants around the place.

Wonderful! Will defiantly come again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate8009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Kate,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice things about your stay with us at Aspiring!
We are so glad that we were able to help you enjoy yourself while on your trip and we hope that you can come and stay with us again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Aspiring Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Aspiring Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've stayed a few nights in Aspiring Lodge and we simply loved it! The motel itself is very nice and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. When you add to it the beautiful view on the Wanaka Lake you have from the window you just have it all!

However, what we appreciated the most was the amazing hospitality and friendliness of the owners. This Polish couple who runs the motel take such a good care of all their guests that you feel as if you were visiting good friends. That makes your stay really perfect!

We definitely recommend the Aspiring Lodge to everyone! Marta & Łukasz (34 years old)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Aspiring Lodge motel and will welcome you back anytime with open arms!
Warm Regards,
Aspiring Lodge Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We didn't plan to stay in Wanaka but thank God we did. Turned up on spec and the owner could not have been more helpful. Very comfortable tidy room and great location to walk to everything you need to walk to. Recommendations were perfect and had the best meal in New Zealand that we might not otherwise have found.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigellang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here overnight and found the room to be well equipt,clean and comfortable.The gentleman at reception was very helpful,giving us information about things to do whilst in Wanaka.We were close to all the amenities, Perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago, and returned because of its central location (close to shops, restaurants and the lake) and its VFM. We found the place under new management, who'd done a good job in making the rooms lighter and brighter. The motel rooms are large, with a well equipped kitchen. The staff did their best to make us feel at home. Small niggle - this was the only place we had to pay to use wifi during 2 weeks in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We phoned ahead to secure a room and spoke to a woman who offered a studio for $130, and we negotiated $120. This was obviously not recorded on the reservation. On arrival we were asked for $140 by a man in reception We politely corrected him. His response was bad-tempered muttering while our credit card was processed, then a key was banged down on the counter. No milk, no map, no welcome, no directions to the room. The only good thing about this place was the central location. It was old, grubby, and I couldn't see any claimed panoramic mountain views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay here at Aspiring Lodge Motel, unfortunately a slight lack of communication caused a bit of a surprise for the manager, we apologize if his attitude came across as unpleasant at all. As for the rooms, we have recently done some new, brighter improvements to all of our studios and units and hope that if you are in Wanaka again you will give us another chance!
Regards,
Aspiring Lodge Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We looked around Wanaka fore the right place that suited us for a two night stay at a reasonable price and this is where we stayed. There was enough room for the two of us and the room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the location too because it is a short walk to the restaurants , the lake for a swim and a very short stroll to the wonderful movie theatre in Wanaka , also the supermarket is right next door.
I thought that 140$ Aus a night was pretty reasonable seeing that it was the Christmas holiday season, the manager was very nice and let me use the motels bar b q to cook on, all in all it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I think it would have been nicer to have an up stairs room, comfy and clean if a bit dated
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max274967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lodge Motel

Address: 16 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $100 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspiring Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspiring Lodge Motel is nestled in the heart of the Southern Lakes tourist resort of Wanaka and the gateway to the Mount Aspiring National Park. Being one of the only motels situated right in the center of town, you can easily access many of the exciting activites that Wanaka has to offer by foot. Wanaka is a playground with an abundance of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Aspiring Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspiring Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing