We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it so much we returned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it so much we returned”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We originally booked for 3 nights but stayed for a 4th. Our itinerary took us away but we we enjoyed our stay so much we found time for another 2 nights a couple of weeks later. The hotel owner/manager could not have been more helpful, and we took up his offer to drive us 12 km out to Glendhu Bay for a gorgeous walk back to town along the lake. There were a couple of minor maintenance issues which, when brought to the management's attention, were addressed but our room was spotlessly clean and maintained throughout. Wi-fi is available for purchase, with restricted usage. Although the motel is handily placed next to a large supermarket and on a busy corner we did not hear any intrusive noise. The lake shore and shops are just 2 short blocks away and the views across the lake towards the snow-capped mountains are breathtaking. Plenty of good cafes and restaurants, though we particularly liked Kai Wkakapai on the corner of Ardmore St & Helwick St which showed its class by using a knitted woollen 'cosy' on the teapot!

Room Tip: No 1 on the corner is larger than most motel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twasthatgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely review!
We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Aspiring Lodge Motel and even happier that you enjoyed it enough to return!
If you are ever in Wanaka again we hope that you choose to stay with us again!

Kindest regards!
Ela and Ziggy
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    76
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
37
117
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The room was clean and basic, albeit a bit old and rundown. Right next door to the supermarket. The lake and restaurants a short walk away. Some rooms would have a good view. Enough wifi for emails and bit of internet surfing. The building creaked at night which constantly disturbed our sleep.

Like most places, the checkout time is 10am. I have stayed at many motels and hotels and they give you at least a little bit of tolerance if you are a few minutes late checking out. Especially in a place like Wanaka where many people go to relax and chill out. This is not what happens at Aspiring Lodge Motel

At 10.10am, we had a knock on our door asking us to leave. By 10.30am, we were packed and ready to start loading up the car. I was taking my last bathroom stop before hitting the road when we got an angry knock on the door, threatening a $20 charge if we did not leave immediately.

When I returned the key to the office, I explained that I had never been asked to leave so quickly from any motel before. Instead of apologising, the host started yelling rudely at me, saying that he had cleaners waiting to clean our room and people moving in soon. There was no sight of any cleaners, and by the number of cars in the car park, not many guests either! In any case, surely the cleaners could have cleaned another room first?

I have stayed in a lot of places in the past, but have never had a host who is prepared to argue with customers in such a rude and inappropriate manner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs for a good view, but that might be why we had so much creaking at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Michael T
We here at Aspiring Motel regret to hear that you had an unenjoyable stay with us however, we do have a 10am check out policy which would have been made clear upon check in. Being a smaller motel, especially during a slightly quieter time of the year we need to ensure that everything runs smoothly and on time. Under normal circumstances a late check out could have been arranged for the small fee of $20 however without any notice it becomes difficult for us to make other arrangements with our housekeeping staff while we sit and wait for guests to check out.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us however we have had many great reviews and comments under our new ownership and hope that maybe in the future you can give us another chance which we will try our best to give you a better memory of Aspiring Lodge Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This motel was just a stop over, which turned into a several night stay! The lovely new owner gave great suggestions to fill up the day as well as a very good recommendation for dinner. The room was very spacious but warmed up very quickly once the sun went down. Also the central location could not have been better! just a short walk to any part of town, including the lake, cafe's, restaurants and shops. I will defiantly be returning to Aspiring motel!

Room Tip: Upstairs was great, I even got a glimpse of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
wow! Thank you very much for your splendid review!
We are very very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our location, spacious rooms and views!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip into Wanaka!

Kind Regards,
The Aspiring Lodge Motel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good location right in the centre of town within a short walk of eating places and shops. Conveniently located next to supermarket. No noise that some other reviews have reported. Could not fault the accommodation. Very amiable new owner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Aspiring Lodge Motel and are happy that you were pleased by the location of the motel!

Thank you again and we hope that we will be seeing you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
The Aspiring Lodge Motel team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

From the website I booked off, I was not expecting much but upon my arrival I was shown my room which was already warm and toasty. The new owners were very welcoming and were keen to offer any assistance. The location could not be better with everything you need no more than 50 meters away. I was put in an upstairs room with a balcony, which had breathtaking views. I would of given 5 stars but there was a slight creaking noise from the wood but the owner assured me it's nothing to worry about. All in all my stay at Aspiring was a great weekend getaway on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room if you want a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank-you very much for your kind review!
Yes the creaking noise is something that will be getting better over the summer months, however due to the harsh conditions of the winter the live wood begins to shrink and expand depending on the temperature. We are very glad that you were able to understand this!!
We are very happy that you were pleasantly surprised by our Motel and we hope that you can come and visit us on your next trip to the South Island!
Thank you again,

Kind Regards,
The Aspiring Lodge Motel team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed there for three nights from 15 July 2012. I stayed alone in room no.8 ln the first floor. The room was very spacious with a king size bed and a balcony. There was a comfy sofa with a TV. The room also had a side kitchenette with fridge, microwave, kettle, washing sink, plates, etc. and this was very handy. Just next door is a massive supermarket to get all you need. From the balcony I could see lake wanaka and the mountains. The walls of the room where all lined with wood and the ceiling had wooden beams which gave a certain charm to the room. The bed had electric blankets which were super amazing as it was freezing outside! All in all I loved my stay there and will most certainly return again if come to Wanake. Highly recommended. The owners were very friendly and offered to assist in all ways possible

Room Tip: Go for the first floor if you want to have views of the lake and mountains - room 8 where I stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank-you very much for your lovely review!
We were happy to help you to make your stay in Wanaka as pleasant as possible!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that if you ever in town again you will think of us!

Kind Regards,
The Aspiring Lodge Motel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Aspiring Lodge is right in the center of Wanaka. There a plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

Our room was well furnished and clean and while not large, it was not cramped. The bed was comfortable. The linens were clean and fresh. The bath, while not large, was equipped with a shower without a tub. The room had a small kitchen area with hot plate, refrigerator, microwave and sink. All the fixtures and appliances worked just fine.

It was windy during our stay and the room creaked and groaned as the wind blew, sometimes loudly enough to disturb our sleep. When we checked-in we were advised that this was likely to happen.

Free wireless was available in the office area. Our room was very close to the office so we could pick it up there as well.

Altogether, other than the noise made by the building, it was a good place stay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lodge Motel

Property: Aspiring Lodge Motel
Address: 16 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspiring Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspiring Lodge Motel is nestled in the heart of the Southern Lakes tourist resort of Wanaka and the gateway to the Mount Aspiring National Park. Being one of the only motels situated right in the center of town, you can easily access many of the exciting activites that Wanaka has to offer by foot. Wanaka is a playground with an abundance of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspiring Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspiring Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing