We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosy and quiet, home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“cosy and quiet, home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from a week skiing in Wanaka. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment and were very comfortable. The only downside is that we generally like to cook at home when away skiing and found the little cooker not adequate to even cook pasta as it didn't generate enough heat. I would have also appreciated basics such as an egg cup and a teapot. These are very minor issues (but can be irritating as very easy to fix) and overall the standard was very high. The bed was fantastic and I slept very well, it was also extremely quiet. We timed the walk to town to be 20 minutes at a brisk pace.
Beware of the spa bath though as I'm not sure if they are regularly flushed out, we noticed a far bit of scum when my husband tried it out, I'm not sure he was that dirty!! Bath was great though and I enjoyed this very much after a day on the slopes.
Overall I would highly recommend, however you will need to be prepared for a walk to town on quite poorly lit streets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your time reviewing us, we will use your feed back to improve our services.

See you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    80
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a one bedroom apartment, which had all equipment that you would need for a week or more stay (except a washing machine but you could use the machine located up at the office for a fee, or go into Wanaka and use the laundromat). The staff were very friendly and helpful, and nothing was a problem. Location was terrific, just a short walk into Wanaka. Bathroom was lovely and the spa bath terrific after a days walking! Lounge area was comfortable, with a lovely gas fire and good size TV. The bedroom was at the back on the apartment, so noise was minimal if at all. Bed was firmer than I like but still gave you a good nights sleep. HUGE walk in robe! All in all a great place to stay. And we had the company of a hedgehog in our courtyard :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartments on Lansdowne Street and it has no through traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of our one bedroom apartment. See you next time:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Travelled to Wanaka as part of a South Island trip. The one bed apartment was great. Clean and modern. Pool a bit cold for my liking but the spa was great. Staff helpful. The bed was fantastic if you like firm mattress. Great as an all year round destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lingarth1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank very much for your review. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in early January. It rained for he 5 days we were here, so unfortunately didn't get to use the pool. We enjoyed our stay in Wanaka inspite of the weather. The apartments are about a 20 min walk to Wanaka Town Centre. The lake is beautiful - lot of beautiful mountains surrounding it. On the day we checked out we awoke to snow capped mountains in the middle of summer. Lot of great walks - Mt Iron (best done clockwise), lake edge walks and only about an hours drive out of Queenstown.
One of the days we were there, there was a blackout in Wanaka. The resident manager came to see if we were OK and told us where to find torches int eh apartment (we had our own), but nice gesture.

Good points
-very homey
-great fireplace (sure it is very cosy in Winter),
-fully equipped kitchen (oven, gas stove top, microwave, full sized fridge, dishwasher, pots, pans, crockery, cutlery etc) - 2 bedroom apartment equipped with a Miele coffee machine (unfortunately couldn't get coffee to froth properly)
-pretty little garden out the back with table and chair setting (unfortunately the wet weather prevented us from using it) - our apartment had a little stream running past it
-huge dining table
-huge flat screen TV with lots of cable TV channels
-main bedroom has a 2nd floor balcony
-free WiFi internet for several hours which could be topped up, but prone to dropping out, especially if several people in same apartment accessing at same time or at certain times of the day (e.g. early evening - perhaps because many people accessing at the same time)
-Washing machine and dryer (would be great for drying out ski wear in winter)
-Coat hooks for hanging up heavy winter coats and jackets
- free designated car parking even though share with 1 bedroom apartments
Not so great points
- bed was very hard
-steps going up to bedrooms (not useful if carting suitcase upstairs) and make sure you have hand on railing going down - I slipped first time I went downstairs
- only one shared bathroom and one toilet for two bedroom apartment - most 2 bedroom apartments I have stayed in NZ have two bedrooms and two bathrooms.
- apartment needs a skylight - had to have a light on to see what I was doing because it got quite dark inside - perhaps because the weather was overcast
- lack of air conditioning - could be hot in summer - Wanaka can get fairly hot with temperatures around 25-30C

Would recommend staying here at any time of year - Wanaka has 4 distinct beautiful seasons

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Wanaka Luxury Apartments was just what we needed and the price was very good. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the swimming pool, there seemed to be a private party going on when we tried to use it. One thing I would say is that I noticed a few spider webs in the room which isn't great but didn't spoil it. The beds are very firm which I don't particularly like but that's a personal preference! Overall it's a very nice place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for three or four nights in a one bedroom apartment. Apartment was spacious which allowed us to settle in and relax. We were located in quite a residential area which I thought was a bit odd, however it was great to take time out from the tourist areas we'd stayed in elsewhere in the South Island. The main centre of Wanaka is about a 10-15 walk away (we're slow walkers!) but it was a nice walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sll80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We think our location is unique. Our resort sits beside a park and a residential area.
See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this for one night only and we were extremely satisfied with our accommodation. The rooms are beautiful - real value for money! The service is probably what impressed me as we were really made to feel special on our arrival. We will definitely stay here next time we're in Wanaka!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.7 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Luxury Apartments

Property: Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Address: 8 Stonebrook Drive, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Self-contained and fully serviced apartments provide a choice of 1, 2 or 3-bedroom luxury living in warm, alpine luxury. One glimpse in our photo gallery and it's easy to imagine toasting your toes in front of cosy flames in a stone fireplace, surrounded by beautiful exposed Baltic timbers. You'll find all the expected features such as drying cupboards, spas, computer-controlled central and under-floor heating, plus unexpected touches that border on the indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wanaka Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Luxury Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing