We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved these apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Edge Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka Edge Apartments
Ranked #22 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We loved these apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

Stayed here recently for three nights and found it excellent value for money, particularly as we were given a two-bed apartment when we'd only paid for a one-bed.

It's about a 15 minute walk from the centre but we didn't mind that. We'd rather be a bit of a way out in order to get a quieter location. You can't see the mountains or lake from these rooms but it's not far to walk to get a view.

The apartment was really well equipped, we particularly liked having a washing machine and dryer which helped us catch up with our laundry. There was a nice patio area at the back of the room where we enjoyed sitting outside and relaxing.

The room and the equipment inside it seemed really new and spotlessly clean. There's also decent heating and double glazing which we didn't need with it being summer, but we didn't see any heating of the same standard in the rest of New Zealand and it would be nice and cosy in the winter.

We'd recommend this place to anybody who's looking for somewhere quiet and not in the middle of things.

  • Liked — The location and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marylou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
43
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

We had high expectations of these apartments as we had read the glowing reports in Trip Advisor and had seen their attractive but misleading website. But Wanaka Edge Suites turned out to be our one disappointment in our 3 week holiday on South Island.

First finding it is not so easy to find. We spent 20 minutes trying to locate it and passed it twice. It has a miniscule sign and turns out to be nowhere near the lakeshore (as the website photos somehow suggest) but in fact on an industrial estate at least 20 minutes walk away from the centre. It has no lake view or any view at all for that matter but it is close to a good fish and chippie.

Second the ambience of the apartments themselves. As shown in the night-time photo on the website they look attractive but in reality the grey concrete and prison type walkways are ugly. We found our one side of our apartment had a view onto the underground car park. There was a small patio area you could sit out but to be honest it could have been anywhere (although the Southern Night sky mkes it clear you are not in Doncaster).

Third while our apartment was well appointed and comfortable, it was nowhere as big as the apartment shown on the website.

The reception lady was very kind and helpful and if you are looking for is a comfortable apartment, then it is ok But frankly they didnt put us in a holiday mood and we only stopped the one night. And we are still wondering why the other travellers rated it so highly

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank InsideTrackBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wainuiomata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

My husband & I stayed here from the 16th January to 21st Jan - and it was the most amazing complex. Clean , everything available that we needed and certainly provided us with the facilities we needed especially after my husband had competed in Challenge - Wanaka. We would definetly stay there again and would recommend this lovely place to any of our friends and family.

Gill & Ray Wilson

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness - awesome facility, able to do laundry in room & cook meals if i wanted
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillwrayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2007

Wanaka Lake is very picturesque. We unfortunately experienced windy conditions, so our exploration of the lake and tramping tracks was reduced. We did enjoy a short tramp to the top of Iron Mountain which provided beautiful vistas of the lake, adjacent lake, meadows and mountains. Photos attached.

We chose to stay at Wanaka Edge Suites, based on tripadvisor reviews. What we found is exactly how others had described it: a new facility with very well planned amenities. We cooked in for our one night in a two bedroom suite. The concierge graciously loaned us a movie DVD from his library. He also gave us some excellent suggestions: The tramp mentioned above and the Dart River Safari jet boat in Queenstown. There is no view from the balcony, but all in all, we would rate this hotel as more like a nice evening at home. A nice change of pace!!

For $135NZ this location earns a high rating.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Location to town
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StrandsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

By far the best accomodation we had for our 2 week trip around NZ. The apartments are spacious, new, clean & well designed. The washer & dryer were fantastic (bring your own washing powder or buy it from reception). TV in the lounge & the bedroom. Stereo system, full kitchen facilities & undercover parking free of charge.
Reception were lovely. There is wireless internet available - i think at $15-20/24hrs.
It is a short walk out of town so there are certainly more central places but parking in town is easy & the walk in is easy as well.
We were also upgraded from a one bed to a two bed apartment which was nice.
Would definitely recommend staying here & visiting wanaka.

  • Liked — modern & clean apartments
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lauren&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

Stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised.
The suite was so comfortable and clean and had a almost new feel. The furniture was very contemporary and stylish and we private washing facilities in the apartment.
They also have a hot tub which was a few steps away from our suite. i would definately recommend staying here when in Wanaka. It was a very comforable stay and Val at reception was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed at Wanaka Edge Suites for several days in October 2007. The apartments are new, very well appointed, and extremely comfortable. We had booked a one bedroom apartment, but were given a two bedroom at no extra cost.
Although some of the rooms have no views of the lake, you only have to walk a few yards to to the top of the road, to see the magnificent mountains and the lake.
There is everything that you would require for a short, or lengthy stay provided, including washing and drying facilities in the suites, full cooking equipment and broadband internet, wired and networked (although this is not free, it is at a good rate). There is also full underfloor heating throughout the rooms should you be going in Autumn, Winter or Spring. We found this to be great, after having to use freezing cold bathrooms at some other places we stayed at, on our three week tour of the South Island.
Each apartment has either a good sized balcony, or private courtyard equipped with table and chairs. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — The whole thing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank poppajoe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Edge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Edge Apartments

Property: Wanaka Edge Apartments
Address: 13 Plantation Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka Edge Suites)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Edge Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened October 2006, Wanaka Edge Suites offer 26 stylishly appointed and contemporary 1 & 2 bedroom suites, fully equipped and serviced daily. With on-site spa and sauna, reception, parking, broadband internet in all rooms and located just 1km from the town centre, Wanaka Edge Suites offers a relaxed residential atmosphere with the latest and state of the art amenities. Our complimentary activity planning service ensures that you maximize your enjoyment of Wanaka’s stunning alpine and lake setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wanaka Edge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing