We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious & Well Equiped Apartment !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanaka Edge Apartments
Ranked #25 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxurious & Well Equiped Apartment !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in of those apartments and it felt like at home but in better ! The kitchen is really nice with a platform in the middle of the room to be able to cook, watch TV, drink and talk at the same time !
The leaving room is really nice with a couch and really comfortable !
The overall flat is really clean !
The bedrooms are pretty big and there is plenty of room in the wardrobe !
Also the spa and sauna are a really cool extra !

One bad thing I would like to point out is their internet is one of those other complex systems not really user friendly at all and quite expensive but unfortunately, it's far from being the only place in NZ having this problem.

Would stay there again though !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here with my son, brother and his son for the Warbirds over Wanaka international airshow. P

Pros
Spotlessly clean
Modern
Full cooking facilities and everything else you may need for your stay
Spa and sauna
Very warm and cosy, a little too warm sometimes
Friendly staff

Cons
Very noisy due to a gym next door with Pump classes that start before 7am on a public holiday
Our unit was over the car park which, a car started and idled for about 29 minutes at about 5am which woke us all up

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not directly above the car park if you don't want to get disturbed all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this modern apartment. It had everything we needed (kitchen, laundry facilities) and it was clean. We even got a discount for paying cash when checking out. Would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We prebooked and stayed here for 4 nights in the middle of our road trip of NZ's South Island. We wanted somewhere really comfortable with good amenities to recharge batteries and get up to speed with laundry etc. The suite was well furnished, excellently equipped and adequately sized, but for the price we have had many better.
Service was a bit iffy. The receptionist was somewhat aloof and I did not appreciate it when we were told we would have to vacate the spa at a given time sharp, as there was another reservation. After doing as we were told, we observed there was no other user. The proprietor was reasonably obliging, but I got the impression he was counting the pennies! One evening the fuses blew and there was nobody on site, so we had no option but to go to bed. In the morning I reported it and the owner came up, unlocked the second bedroom, and accessed the fuse box. Admittedly, he gave us a credit on our final bill, but why lock the room - I've never known this before.
I wished there had been a lift, as it was really quite punishing dragging all our luggage up and down the stairs. But my biggest disappointment was the total lack of a view. Coming to Wanaka, this is what we really wanted.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Front desk was helpful but we had so many issues with things not working . Apartment was clean enough and had modern furniture but was so very very small , no views at all and only 2 small wardrobes for a family of 4 wasn't enough. would not stay here again and would not recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nene38_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

we're actually expecting Lake Wanaka view from the balcony or maybe their roof just like we see in their website pictures. But, because they're located in the middle of the business district, all I can see was roof and mountains :p
I believe it's beautiful view on winter.

But, when we entered the room. woow! it's lovely!! compact, clean, nice, all facilities are there (PHILLIPS brand-minded I guess), and we can use the jacuzzi and spa (located outside the room) anytime!!
the internet was fast, has laundry facilities for each room which is good because we can wash as many time as we want without looking for coins first.

I'd love to come back again to stay longer

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

The room was great - well kitted out kitchen, small balcony, massive beds and a washer/drier. It felt like a ski apartment. The owner was very helpful as we arrived very late and he had left our key taped to the door of reception with a little note.

The only negatives were a lack of a lift and no view of the lake. However as we were only staying a night on our way down the South Island, this did not spoil our enjoyment whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank young_happy_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ASURE Brookvale Motel
ASURE Brookvale Motel
#17 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Edge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Edge Apartments

Property: Wanaka Edge Apartments
Address: 13 Plantation Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka Edge Suites)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Edge Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened October 2006, Wanaka Edge Suites offer 26 stylishly appointed and contemporary 1 & 2 bedroom suites, fully equipped and serviced daily. With on-site spa and sauna, reception, parking, broadband internet in all rooms and located just 1km from the town centre, Wanaka Edge Suites offers a relaxed residential atmosphere with the latest and state of the art amenities. Our complimentary activity planning service ensures that you maximize your enjoyment of Wanaka’s stunning alpine and lake setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Edge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing