We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wanaka Edge Apartments
Ranked #31 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We prebooked and stayed here for 4 nights in the middle of our road trip of NZ's South Island. We wanted somewhere really comfortable with good amenities to recharge batteries and get up to speed with laundry etc. The suite was well furnished, excellently equipped and adequately sized, but for the price we have had many better.
Service was a bit iffy. The receptionist was somewhat aloof and I did not appreciate it when we were told we would have to vacate the spa at a given time sharp, as there was another reservation. After doing as we were told, we observed there was no other user. The proprietor was reasonably obliging, but I got the impression he was counting the pennies! One evening the fuses blew and there was nobody on site, so we had no option but to go to bed. In the morning I reported it and the owner came up, unlocked the second bedroom, and accessed the fuse box. Admittedly, he gave us a credit on our final bill, but why lock the room - I've never known this before.
I wished there had been a lift, as it was really quite punishing dragging all our luggage up and down the stairs. But my biggest disappointment was the total lack of a view. Coming to Wanaka, this is what we really wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Wanaka Edge Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Front desk was helpful but we had so many issues with things not working . Apartment was clean enough and had modern furniture but was so very very small , no views at all and only 2 small wardrobes for a family of 4 wasn't enough. would not stay here again and would not recommend it .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nene38_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

we're actually expecting Lake Wanaka view from the balcony or maybe their roof just like we see in their website pictures. But, because they're located in the middle of the business district, all I can see was roof and mountains :p
I believe it's beautiful view on winter.

But, when we entered the room. woow! it's lovely!! compact, clean, nice, all facilities are there (PHILLIPS brand-minded I guess), and we can use the jacuzzi and spa (located outside the room) anytime!!
the internet was fast, has laundry facilities for each room which is good because we can wash as many time as we want without looking for coins first.

I'd love to come back again to stay longer

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

The room was great - well kitted out kitchen, small balcony, massive beds and a washer/drier. It felt like a ski apartment. The owner was very helpful as we arrived very late and he had left our key taped to the door of reception with a little note.

The only negatives were a lack of a lift and no view of the lake. However as we were only staying a night on our way down the South Island, this did not spoil our enjoyment whatsoever.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank young_happy_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in this motel. The welcome was good and the apartment was clean, well equipped and even had a washing machine and a dryer (which was very convenient).

We were placed on the 2nd floor, and had to climb several flights of stairs as there wasn't a lift. These apartments also didn't have a "view", as such. We overlooked a gym and light warehouses/businesses.

This apartment would be ideal for those in the ski-ing in the ski season.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Stayed in the 2 bed apt number 26 on the 3rd floor (no lift!). On checking in there was a most unhelpful Brazilian guy behind the desk who gave us no information whatsoever. As in other places I asked if I could have a copy of the town plan from the desk and he said ok - with others places this was offered with instructions of the best way into town, suggestions of where to eat / drink etc ....but not him.

The walk into town therefore was a very long way and an even longer way uphill on the way back - we discovered the next day when the manager was on duty who was very friendly that we had gone the long long way round and could have taken a short cut....we would have done had we been told!

The apartment itself was of a good size and well equipped but with no free internet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Our apartment was very well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Laundry facilities were also appreciated and the owner was also very accomodating.

Our stay was only hampered by the fact it is located right next door to a gym. Our living room was directly opposite the gym entry which meant we had to not only keep our curtains closed, but also the doors as the noise from the instructor and music was incessant. This was ok in the afternoon to early evening, but I was not very happy about being woken when it was still dark outside (in the morning) by an over enthusiast instructor and bass beat music pumping.

Besides the noise from the gym, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mish_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
0.6 mi away
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
#18 of 53 in Wanaka
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Heights Motel
Wanaka Heights Motel
#18 of 20 in Wanaka
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#11 of 53 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairway Motel
Fairway Motel
#14 of 20 in Wanaka
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Edge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Edge Apartments

Address: 13 Plantation Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka Edge Suites)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $201 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Edge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened October 2006, Wanaka Edge Suites offer 26 stylishly appointed and contemporary 1 & 2 bedroom suites, fully equipped and serviced daily. With on-site spa and sauna, reception, parking, broadband internet in all rooms and located just 1km from the town centre, Wanaka Edge Suites offers a relaxed residential atmosphere with the latest and state of the art amenities. Our complimentary activity planning service ensures that you maximize your enjoyment of Wanaka’s stunning alpine and lake setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wanaka Edge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing