We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Of The Best Places To Stay In Wanaka, Especially In Winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Places To Stay In Wanaka, Especially In Winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Oakridge is a great resort in Wanaka, the best thing is the outdoor pools and spas. There are seven or eight spas over 40 degrees celcius, so it is almost certain and I can guarantee you will get a spa by yourself. There are also two big pools that are 38 degrees celcius, so the Oakridge is probably one of the best places to stay in winter in Wanaka. And for the fitness fanatics, there is a lap pool (25m) as well.

The Oakridge isn't in the centre of town but it is relaxing and quiet and it is only about 3km to town. Its next door to the Lone Star restaurant and Base Camp indoor rock climbing, the rock climbing is fantastic for kids and adults and it is a must do in wanaka.When you wake up in the morning you see mountains (with snow) from some of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKiwiDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    334
    196
    95
    38
See reviews for
201
497
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Studio room modern and comfortable with a beaut King ( maybe superking) bed but not over large. Good views over the complex but no air con. Climb via external stairs to first floor a bit narrow for bags.
Great facilities with several spa pools and large pool plus a lap pool. Reataurant adjoining pool was casual. Bar areas and outside spaces excellent.
A bit on the edge of town but plenty of room and lots of parking.
Enjoyable stay, friendly staff - will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
340 reviews
326 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

This resort hotel is a great choice for a stay in Wanaka and is probably the nicest place we’ve stayed in NZ. It has everything you need for a very comfortable holiday in one of the top spots in the country. The hot pools are a decadent luxury and we enjoyed our daily soaks.

Although not located right on the lake, the hotel offers great mountain views in all directions, including right up to Mt. Aspiring on a clear day. Some reviewers have complained that it is too far out of town, however we found the easy 20 min walk into town to be very pleasant and enjoyable, along the beautiful golf course and lake front. We enjoyed the quiet solitude of the location and it is not necessary to have a car to enjoy this place.

We were given a 1 bedroom apartment and were very impressed by the quality of the accommodation. The apartment was very roomy with open plan kitchen/dining/living area and a separate bedroom with king size bed. The kitchen was fully functional with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, jug, and toaster and a full assortment of dishes and cutlery. The furnishings were all modern and high quality and the sofa folds out into a double bed so the apartment can sleep 4 people if necessary. The bathroom was a bit small but well outfitted, including nice underfloor heating. The old CRT TV looked a bit dated and really should be upgraded to a more modern LCD or plasma TV. There was a DVD player and radio/stereo as well. The balcony was good sized and we enjoyed sitting in the sun and admiring the great views of the Alps. The whole apartment was spotlessly clean and very well maintained, and there was no problem with road noise – or any kind of noise at all – during the night. Wifi internet is available throughout the resort for a small fee (I think it was around NZ$16 for 3 hours).

The hotel grounds are very tastefully landscaped with native NZ shrubs and trees, all very well looked after. The outdoor hot pools were the real highlight and we looked forward every evening to quietly soaking in the hot waters and watching the stars overhead after a day of hiking or biking. We also made use of the very well equipped gym and had some good weight workouts there. We didn’t try any of the onsite restaurants, but did order a couple of gourmet room service pizzas which were excellent.

We found the service to be excellent on all fronts. All staff were friendly and helpful and responded quickly to any request. Check-in and check-out were hassle free and effortless.

I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers – for business or pleasure – and we would very definitely stay here again. Great value for money. We really loved the place and had a great, relaxing stay and very much want to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a great base for any stay in Wanaka...Great outlook...make sure you get a north facing room..The Apres anything facilities are excellent!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigPellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

Our extended family enjoy staying at the hotel but are not happy with the booking system, as we were booking 6 rooms we specifically asked for all the rooms to be close together but on arrival found that we were scattered all over the complex.
I also found the King bed very hard and flat and the pillows too large, a choice would have been appreciated

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing