We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for the snow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Melbourne
1 review
“Good spot for the snow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

I stayed at Oakridge during the ski season of 09 with a large group. I thought that the rooms and faciliies were great. Rooms were really modern and nice as well as the grounds. The beds were REALLY comfortable, however the king 'zip' bed is annoying, but it is stated that this is the bedding format.
Bathrooms were great, LOVED the heated floors throught out the apartment. Also LOVED having 2 bathrooms for 2 bedrooms. Great not having to share.
We were a fair way out of town so a taxi or car is a must if you want to go out for the night. A 5 minute drive only though.
The only couple of things that were annoying were that room service would come daily, and unless you specifically pointed things out or left a note stuff would get missed. e.g. many of us had to specifically ask for our floors to be mopped...things like that.
Also a fair few people in the group got gastro and we were told by the chemist in town that it was common to get gastro from the hot tubs as they were not only open to people staying at the hotel, but anyone could pay a fee and use the pools and spas.
That was a real shame as the pools and hot tubs were lovely after a day skiing but i gave them a miss for the last 2 days after that.
I don't know if this is a 1 off, or if this is something that is common. A quick call to the local chemist will tell you!
Overall a great place to stay, with only a couple of small things that we weren't happy with. Defintely reccomend for a large group.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wish_it_was_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    341
    201
    96
    39
See reviews for
206
508
25
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Great Everything. Service was top notch, pools were awesome, rooms were updated, clean and room service was GREAT. Food in restaurant was great and bar staff was exceptional.

Wanaka is great. We spent 3/11 nights in town. If I was going to do the south Island over again, I'd spend half here and half in Queenstown. I'd skip the Glaciers, Christchurch, Lake Tekepo and where I am currently, kaikoura. There was so much to do in Wanaka and the views were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infaithdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stayed at a standard king room for a night.Staff upon checkin were friendly&helpful.We arrived very late and the shops had already closed, the staff were kind enough to organise and lend me some bowls and plates so I could eat some instant noodles.

The resort was well presented externally although a slight bit away from town and can be a little difficult to find without a map in the middle of the night.

We stayed at room 23 and the room itself was contained in a building similar to a apartment, there was a room downstairs and two rooms upstairs. However, all three rooms shared common areas including the stairway and there was only one parking available outside each building. Additional parking is still available for the other guests, but 20maway.

The room was clean and to the standard expected of the hotel, the room contained basic facilities you would expect of a hotel room. There is also a shared pool, gym and very nice spa within the resort that can be enjoyed.

I pre-paid $90 AUD for the night and felt that compared to some of the other accommodation available at Wanaka, it was a good price and decent value for money. Just be aware that if you do request for a 2nd level room, be prepared to walk up a tight set of stairs with all your luggage!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIersHasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

Stayed here with our adult son. The rooms are arranged in sets of three with their own parking and separate entrance, they were fairly small but very tidy and clean. The facilities are excellent with 2 pools, lap pool and 7 ( I think) hot pools. The restaurant is very nice and we had both evening meals and breakfast that were excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. It's location is outside Wanaka itself but only a very short drive and there is plenty of parking in Wanaka so doesn't create a problem.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserMcKenzie, Fraser McKenzie, General Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, December 3, 2009
Its great to hear guests enjoying the Hotel - Lake Wanaka is such a beautiful destination, a real gem for those that visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

Awesome landscaped hot pools and spas were a big plus and surprise, hadn't known about that when we booked. Perfect because it had been a grey cold rainy day so we hopped into those in the rain and it was great! Sauna nice too. Really warmed us up.

Woke up on day 2 to stunning snowy mountain vistas, very pretty. You can't see the lake but certainly have a panorama view of the mountain ranges.

We had a rental car so the slightly out of town location (a few minutes drive) was no issue - check in efficient and friendly, and we had a nice small upstairs room with a superking bed with nice bedding. The room was clean apart from marks on the curtains (as far as I could tell). Was very quiet indeed, is off the main road.

We loved the high pressure shower and dual basins, and the room is small but all we needed for us 2 just staying a night. Would recommend as a stop over or luxury relax - has a nice small bar area with roaring fire and a cafe and restaurant. Restaurant was closed as was a quiet holiday weekend but we were told could bring anything up from threcafe into the bar area which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZorroNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights with my partner. Honestly we love the service at the restaurant and the food. The location is not that bad because were using a rental car. The rooms are ok and clean when we arrived. But small things that they forgot would mean a lot! Next day they did not supply shampoo/soap in short toiletries which is pretty basic supply in every hotel. So we just ignore it thinking maybe the housekeeping forgot to give us. But on the following day there is none again. So I started checking what they do in our room. I noticed that they dont change beddings and sheets as well. They only tidy up the room and make the bed but not change the sheets! The bathroom towels I dont know if its coincidence but I inspect carefully that there are some hair's on towels! Not sure if its really wash but I had a feeling someone is not doing properly their job.
Such a shame the place would be ideal but turned into a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetlifeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserMcKenzie, General Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, October 11, 2009
Thanks for your feedback - I have already passed your comments to the Housekeeping Manager, and agree entirely that it is in the detail that we 'make' the stay. We are working hard with the team moving into a beautiful Summer, to ensure we are on top of these things. And thank you for the great rap on the Restaurant - I'll send this on the team as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Overall we were pretty happy with our stay here. It was 5 mins drive out of town but we didn't see that as a negative, except when we first checked in after a long drive from Franz Josef. We were a bit disappointed when we hadn't brought the cash with us to pay for our stay that we were made to drive into town to withdraw it before we were given the keys to the room, despite having an imprint of our credit card. Was not expecting to have to fully pay on check in and there is no ATM so beware!

The room/suite itself was lovely and had gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains. The spa bath in the room was a real treat after a days skiing.

My husband was extremely impressed with the quality of the equipment in the gym, although not having set foot in there due to be on holiday, I can't comment personally.

One disappointing aspect of our stay was the quality (or lack thereof) of the room turn down service. It looked like the cleaner had simply thrown the bedclothes back over the bed and not much else in their haste.... presumably to go and hit the slopes with the quality of the snow :)

Both these negative things probably wouldn't stop me from booking here again though.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emcampb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing