We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Only stayed for one night. Room was above average, with nice comfy beds. No complaints with the room. Our room had a Balcony, and it was great to sit there for breakfast.
The location is about 5 ks from town, so its very quiet.
Lake Wanaka is a beautiful must see lake. The colour is amazing.
We eat in the hotels restaurant, and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 973 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2009

We booked one night at this resort through Wotif. This is a beautiful resort with great views of the snowcapped mountains, outdoor pool and spa and restaurant. Very quiet and peaceful on the outskirts of Wanaka but still close enough to walk (if you are feeling energetic!) or drive. I was a little disappointed in the size of our room though considering that this is a purpose built resort. The room was barely large enough for the bed, and you could not open the wardrobe door because it hit against the bedside table. We had to rearrange some furntiure (to the balcony) to open our suitcases fully!

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful setting i would consider this resort, but pay a little more for a larger unit. I would say though that the hotel did honour the free breakfast (very good full buffet) and late checkout that we booked with our bargain Wotif rate so that all in all this was a good value stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moorefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

The hotel is a little drive from town, you need a car to visit Wanaka anyway and parking in town is plentiful.

The rooms were small but nice.

It seems to be designed for the ski-ing crowd and was fairly empty in December pre school holidays.

The staff were very friendly, strangly I was expecting more from the hot pools. There are two heated pools and a lap pool which we didn't venture near. One of the heated pools was kept covered during the stay.

They also has 7-8 in ground spas around the pools. Two of these were uncovered. The water in the one we went into seemed in need of better filtration, and I was thinking it was going to be more thermal pool than hot tub/spa set up. However the uncovered swimming pool was fine.

The price was right and the hotel was good value, and if I had been ski-ing all day they thought of relaxing in hot water regardless of thermal or artificial would have been a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Our family stayed at this great resort for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the facilities were fantastic. The food was really nice and the location was great - close enough to the township but very quiet. We would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Halta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

A trip to the snow in the middle of winter! "Your Nuts", everyone told us. I wasn't concerned though, as I'd prioritized our accommodation so we would be happy to spend a big portion of our time chilling-out in our very lovely accommodations. I should have headed the warnings! Despite the very attractive surroundings and the chirpy staff our room was not conducive to relaxation, or even spending too much time there. On arrival the apparently friendly staff told us to take our own bags around to our room on the other side of the property. And what a immaculate well-presented room it was BUT, it was so cramped it was borderline claustrophobic: one window looking out to a building site (an extension to the hot-pools). There was a TV that was fixed to the wall on such odd angel, you couldn't view it from the only chair on the other side of the room. When we went out the following day and all the subsequent days of our stay, we would come back around 2.30, 3.00pm thinking we could have a swim and a snooze before thinking about dinner, but sadly the room was never serviced before 3.00 - 4.30pm. No afternoon naps for us. Instead, we watched TV whilst waiting for the service staff to knock on the door. And I notice another reviewer said they used the hotel shuttle to go into town but when we rang the office to find out what time the shuttle left, we were told there wasn't one! Four mornings walking into Wanaka township and one expensive taxi ride back on the day we just couldn't face walking anymore. Oh well, we needed the exercise.
A relaxed snow-boarding type of vibe has rubbed off on the staff and I congratulate them for remaining cheerful when things were less than perfect. On our last day there we decided to take a final relaxing hot-swim but noticed the pools (including the tubs that were available) were decidedly tepid. On getting out and telling the staff it was too cold for us, they realized they hadn't turned the heating on.
Overall this place has so much going for it but it's such a shame it's being let down by the details.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MooEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Wow this property was amazing in a stunning mountain setting and spread out which makes all the difference. We had great food int he restaurant and the cafe down by the pool. Had many soaks in the pools. It was about 20 minutes walk to Wanaka town centre (picturesque though so not complaining!). We also utilised their free shuttle service (they take guests any time) to go to town on one day. Best of all there's a rock climbing centre right next door so when the kids have had enough of the mountains or the swimming pools (not likely!) there's rock climbing! One of the best places we have stayed in a beautiful part of the world.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank skibunnies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We loved the hot tubs and pools which were great after a days skiing and the big comfortable king size bed with electric blanket.
However we were disappointed with a number of things.
The room and bathroom were very small and lacked facilities and comforts expected in a 'Superior' room, we wondered what a Standard room would be like. We booked 2 rooms as a family with teenagers two months before and were very disappointed that the rooms we were given were in different blocks, staff offered to look into this but no one got back to us. The lack of insulation between rooms and entry doors meant you were woken by people coming to the next rooms. We had one small towel each - with a note saying we had to pay if we wanted another towel for use at the pool etc. The front door let in light from the outside door lights all night which you could not cover - there should be at least a curtain. When I went to call on my daughters in their ground floor room I was concerned with the lack of privacy, I could see one daughter in bed and also her getting up to answer the door, though the clear glass surround on the doors glass panel. My daughter's shower also went cold midway through a shower - this was promptly fixed but should not happen. The cups we used one day were not cleaned or the bench wiped. The restaurant food was good, smallish portions, but very expensive more in keeping with a top Auckland venue than the 'family' style restaurant full of families and young children at the resort. The rooms are very spread out, we were in a far block and the signage at night was not good when driving in and walking to the main area at night.
This is more like a basic motel with a good hot pool area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank R0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $107 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing