We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Pools - Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Loved the quiet rooms with full kitchen in the large two story units.

The mountain views are great to wake up to and the spa pools the perfect soak at the end of the day. Yes its a kay or so out of town but if you have a rental its no problem. Good pillows too, always seems a silly thing but makes a difference!

Shame didn't get time for a massage at the Spa

Room Tip: If you have a family go for the large units with two rooms upstairs and lounge kitchen below that ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Oakridge Resort. We appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback and we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our hot pools and great views and your also your positive comment regarding our pillows. We hope you'll be able to come back to Wanaka, to enjoy another stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 973 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Didn't enjoy this place. Nickel-and-dimed us for everything, extremely insufficient parking. Blew a breaker, took over an hour to get someone over to fix it. Charged $10, per night, per device, for Internet access. Location is far from city center. Prices in on-site restaurant were expensive, laundry was expensive. Rooms were vanilla, zero character. There must be better choices in Wanaka.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sooieeehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments will go a long way to improve future guest experience. Once gain thank you for your review and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent the 2nd week of two in NZ here, leaving just before Christmas. The staff were very polite & helpful during check in and throughout our stay. The 2 bedroom rooms were fantastic with sliding glass doors that opened up enough that the deck became an extension of the sitting area. Quite a neat design. Alas, it gave us an awesome view of the parking lot to the smaller units just behind us.

Halfway through our week, they were resurfacing the blacktop of the entire resort. The manager came to us, informed us of the situation and offered us a different unit away from the road work (which we declined, but my parents in another unit accepted). All in all, they handled a major inconvenience as best they could.

The resort is on the outskirts of town, so you'll be driving to nearly everywhere. Parking was rarely a problem for us, although it was rarely easy. My parents reported that the resort restaurant required reservations but the desk said they could just walk in. As everywhere else in NZ, the wireless internet is a mess. I had to go to the desk multiple times to get a new access code, which would work for a couple days and then quit before my time was up. The staff was very helpful in issuing new codes, but it was a hassle.

If I had a complaint about the resort/unit, it would be that there isn't enough storage space to properly unpack your clothes. If that's your worst complaint, I think you're doing quite well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Furlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time taken to leave your comments. Your feedback will definitely help as we constantly look at ways to improve future guest experience. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A fantastic Hotel outside the main town of Lake Wanaka. The views were spectacular with Mountains on all sides. Really wish it could have been more than one night but great. Lovely looking pool & very nice apartments

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time taken to leave your feedback. Once again thank you for your comments and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were in Wanaka for New Years and even though I was booking 3 months in advance, most of the hotels were full. Finally found a double room at Oakridge.

Has a lot of resort-like facilities but we were more interested in going out and exploring the town and nearby areas, so didnt use any of them. Hence didnt really turn out value for money for us.

But a good clean place to stay and if you have a car, the town is only a 5-10min drive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anchit_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Thank for your comments about our facilities and rooms. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank maishirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We rented two studio queen rooms for 4 adults for one night. The rooms were very clean and parking was very convenient. Our only view was of the parking lot and units across the way. I would assume that a higher grade of room would offer more of a view. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

I was a little disappointed because the photos on the website made this resort appear to be a bit more luxurious than it turned out to be. There was a large swimming pool area with a number of hot tub.

From the other reviews, it appears that many of the rooms do have nice balconys and views so if you looking for that you might have to specifically request it or choose a higher priced room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flomap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your comments about our housekeeping we pride ourselves on our high standards of room cleanliness. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again in maybe one our 2-bedroom apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $106 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing