We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The booking for this motel was made through a travel agent and we were very happy with their choice.

Spent 7 nights at this resort while we where on a skiing holiday. So glad this resort had the hot tub spas as they were really needed.

Rooms were clean, serviced daily and very comfortable to stay in. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We ate at the restaurant on the first night and found the food great.

Will stay at this resort again when visiting in the future.

Room Tip: Ensure you visit the on site spas and have your drinks brought to you in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grantoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    341
    201
    96
    39
See reviews for
206
508
25
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I booked a room on hotels.com for dirt cheap (I'm talking hostel prices) and must have smiled upon by the hotel gods because I was upgraded to a fabulous 1 bedroom with a full kitchen, huge deck and lovely bathroom. The best part was that there was a washer/dryer in the unit (what!!) so I could clean all my stinky stuff from hiking the Kepler Track. There's a huge grocery store in town so we were able to cook dinner after enjoying the hot pools and the sauna. Only negative is that you can't bring your own drinks into the pool area. Do the Rob Roy hike if you're in Wanaka, it's amazing!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Denver373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly staff, lovely unit with good bedrooms, we used the family unit with 2 bedrooms. Only stayed one night but another time we would like to stay longer. In summer would have used the pool. Felt welcomed and enjoyed our brief stay. Need a car to get to town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GlwGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We are members of the Accor Holiday club.. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments.. Plenty of room, clean, loved the gas fire place for ambience on the few cold nights we encountered. Few small cosmetic issues but overall very happy... I had read all the reviews and was dreading staying here.. I am happy to say we were pleasantly surprised.. We enjoyed the hot tubs and the gym .. Staff were courteous and friendly ... We would definitely stay here again...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here and a part of a much looked forward family holiday and it just became a comedy of unbelievable happenings. The heater in one bedroom was not working. Housekeeping gave a good service got a radaint bar heater with fan. Unfortunately they plugged it in right by the bed - we tried to ask for an extension chord but they just proceeded to say it would be fine - if we had left it where they had placed it we would have been a fire in 30mins. ( I do not believe the person had worked with radiant heating which is quite different to the heating in the units). Gas heating ran with a very loud hum, - we turned if off and used the bedroom radiant heater (LOL- that was positive), TV channels did not work, toilet roll holder falling of wall, Dust featured floating in balls on the floor, Curtains off the hooks, We got some DVDs only to find the DVD Player in the TV did not work. We informed reception and they sent people over but could not fix it ? Mmmm some spots on the bottom sheet - but it looked crisp folds so decided not to worry. (Wish I hadn't) Micowave did not work. Positives - beds were very comfortable, range and fridge worked well. We just laughed it off and enjoyed the things that did work and the beauty of the area- trying to be positive. However the final straw was on the last night I was restless and the sheet came away from the bed and I found a large dark brown stain 25-30cm in diameter on the electric blanket. It looked like someone had tried to sponge it out. I felt pysically sick and I was so thankful we were leaving. We did let the reception know but no major reaction. We will not be back. -I do wonder what is happening in this resort - do owners know or care - We were just stunned.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the very front of the complex facing North (no other apartments in front of them so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

After experiencing very good and well priced accommodation in Queenstown, we were extremely disappointed with this "resort". From the unwelcoming and disinterested staff at reception to the very basic and mostly empty "buffet breakfast" we were happy that we had only decided on one night there. They didn't seem to be very busy, however, on arrival at our two bedroom apartment only one bed was visible. Inquiries revealed the other room was next door, however, the door was firmly locked. This was rectified but no information was given re the facilities, breakfast location or any other advice regarding restaurant recommendations, sightseeing that was freely offered at the other places we stayed in.

Facilities were very basic, and breakfast was a joke. Although we had pre booked breakfast it took two trips back to reception to confirm this. Had we known the breakfast was so bad, at a cost of $18 we would have given it a miss. No one appeared to be refilling the buffet, and it was very unappealing, with a few items on each plate that looked like it had been sitting around for hours. And it was only 8.45am, so not what you would assume would be too late.

If staying in Wanaka again, I would definitely not choose this resort, and there seemed to be quite a few options actually on the lake that looked nice.

Not a good look for such a big hotel chain.

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel on the lake, this will disappoint, and the rates are not cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, New Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here as a group and were given rooms quite a walk away from the reception, dining and loungebar area. They were tiny units, hardly enough room to move around. The dinner had been pre-booked for three courses but only two were provided. The breakfast was greazy and it ran out. When we asked for more to be brought out for those who had missed we were told "the chef wont cook any more as he didn't expect you all to eat a cooked breakfast and had cooked what he considered adequate"! The only good thing about it was the waitress (who doubled as the barmaid and had no-one else to help her) - she was very pleasant. Our room was a long way to walk, OK if fine but would be a good soaking if wet. The place looked flashy with it's spa pools and swimming pool, reception and grounds with a little bridge, but it's service and facilities are sadly lacking. We will not recommend this hotel to anyone. I wouldn't be surprised if it closes down. We appeared to be the only guests yet there seemed to be hundreds of units, all empty.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenny of Tarana... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing