We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but a little far from the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    354
    206
    100
    42
See reviews for
213
528
25
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived in Wanaka around 5pm and had great difficulty finding the hotel. Though we knew it was 1.5km from the town centre, this did not prove to be an easy walk to restaurants etc. The service was simply not up to standard, even for a two star hotel, nevermind a Grand Mercure. Reception staff were unhelpful verging on rude, one of our waiters was overbearing to the point of being rude. The hotel itself does not measure up to Grand Mercure's that we have stayed in before. We were not even able to charge spa treatements to our hotel room. It was most disappointing and we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMW118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathrooms apartment which was spacious, with a well equipped kitchen dishwasher, oven etc and washer/drier. The apartment was on the ground floor with a patio and grassy area. We had a view of the mountains just -between 2 buildings. Plenty of parking and you really do need a car as the hotel is a good 20mjn walk to the town. the nearest supermarket was in town. we enjoyed the pools.The restaurant at the hotel is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. We did have breakfast once but I thought it was not up to the usual Grand Mercure standard.
We self catered during our stay. Would stay again but would request an upstairs apartment as you are very aware of the people walking around. The staff were friendly and helpful.



Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Bright, refreshing, clean, homey, modern appliances, comfortable cosy bed, TV in bedroom and lounge and included a washing machine & dryer which is exactly what we needed half way through our trip. Hot swimming pool was nice, however the hot tubs had dead flies & mosquitoes in there so we couldnt use that but our apartment made up for it! We also had spectacular mountain views and the opportunity to sit outside & admire the view. Wish i could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrum Heads
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked a one bedroom apartment through the Accor Premier Vacation Club and were totally disappointed with the complex. The entry to our apartment had not seen the right side of a broom for some considerable time. The bedroom had breakfast cereal on the carpet, the king bed was not suited to the room as one could not fully access the wardrobe. It would have been more practical for the room size to have a queen bed. The picture above the head end of the bed made it very uncomfortable to sit up in bed. We had to perform a complete clean of the kitchen before we would use it. The filters on the range hood require replacement as when cooking, they simply recirculated the fumes into the room and set off the smoke alarm and in turn the evacuation announcement for the entire block. Same happened the next day to the couple in the apartment above us. The tops of the fridge and microwave had obviously not been cleaned in a long time. More cereal under the dining table and food crumbs under the coffee table and under the sofa. The privacy curtains in the lounge had mould on the hems and not broom/vacuum was provided in the room. The bathroom had grunge in the exterior corners of the shower screen and behind the bathroom door. The shower was nothing short of disgusting with copious mould in the grout. I had to borrow a broom form reception to sweep the entry area and the apartment floor for myself. When reporting this to the receptions staff I was told that "we are not responsible for the cleaning as it is contracted out. However, if you want to come back around noon you fill out a maintenance request sheet". Unbelievable! What is the managements job if not to monitor the cleanliness of their resort. the TV was ancient but the kitchen facilities once cleaned were good. Modern Fridge, cook-top, oven and microwave but the dishwasher was very noisy. the highlight of the resort was the hot pools area - fantastic.
Be aware that you are quite some distance from the facilities of Wanaka. One delight within walking distance was Rosy's Bar and Cinema - a real treat to avail yourselves of.

Room Tip: If you do decide to go here, make absolutely sure you view your room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overall, really enjoyable. A couple of new staff on, who were coming up to speed with the Advantage Plus System.
Downstairs room was noisy with other guests banging communual entry doors and cloncking around in the upstairs rooms at all hours of the night.
TV receprion was crap, to put in midly.
Facilities are excellent, hot pools, bar, resturant and the people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon in May 2012. We were on a self drive trip and had been booking our next accommodation from each location.
Grand Mercure did not disappoint! It was reasonably priced and our unit was modern, very well equipped and clean, great kitchen and a fabulously comfortable bed.
A few small things that reduced the review from excellent:
The lack of fly screens on the windows meant we had regular visits from friendly bugs.
The TV mounted on the angled wall in the bedroom pointed away from the bed (not sure where you are intended to view it from) and it wasn't wired in anyway so it didn't work.
A surprise repairman let himself in one afternoon with no warning. Potentially embarrassing for honey- mooners; we were making lunch at the time.

Note to newly weds too: Don't expect a fuss to be made of you, or even an acknowledgement that this is your honeymoon. Unlike Asia, the US and the rest of the South Pacific, it just doesn't seem to be part of the NZ Hospitality Industry service culture.

Aside from these minor things, this was definitely our favourite place to stay on the NZ South Island and we will definitely be back! Loved every moment of staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit upstairs in the wing down the front, closest to town and you will be away from everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing