We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathrooms apartment which was spacious, with a well equipped kitchen dishwasher, oven etc and washer/drier. The apartment was on the ground floor with a patio and grassy area. We had a view of the mountains just -between 2 buildings. Plenty of parking and you really do need a car as the hotel is a good 20mjn walk to the town. the nearest supermarket was in town. we enjoyed the pools.The restaurant at the hotel is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. We did have breakfast once but I thought it was not up to the usual Grand Mercure standard.
We self catered during our stay. Would stay again but would request an upstairs apartment as you are very aware of the people walking around. The staff were friendly and helpful.



Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 988 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Bright, refreshing, clean, homey, modern appliances, comfortable cosy bed, TV in bedroom and lounge and included a washing machine & dryer which is exactly what we needed half way through our trip. Hot swimming pool was nice, however the hot tubs had dead flies & mosquitoes in there so we couldnt use that but our apartment made up for it! We also had spectacular mountain views and the opportunity to sit outside & admire the view. Wish i could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked a one bedroom apartment through the Accor Premier Vacation Club and were totally disappointed with the complex. The entry to our apartment had not seen the right side of a broom for some considerable time. The bedroom had breakfast cereal on the carpet, the king bed was not suited to the room as one could not fully access the wardrobe. It would have been more practical for the room size to have a queen bed. The picture above the head end of the bed made it very uncomfortable to sit up in bed. We had to perform a complete clean of the kitchen before we would use it. The filters on the range hood require replacement as when cooking, they simply recirculated the fumes into the room and set off the smoke alarm and in turn the evacuation announcement for the entire block. Same happened the next day to the couple in the apartment above us. The tops of the fridge and microwave had obviously not been cleaned in a long time. More cereal under the dining table and food crumbs under the coffee table and under the sofa. The privacy curtains in the lounge had mould on the hems and not broom/vacuum was provided in the room. The bathroom had grunge in the exterior corners of the shower screen and behind the bathroom door. The shower was nothing short of disgusting with copious mould in the grout. I had to borrow a broom form reception to sweep the entry area and the apartment floor for myself. When reporting this to the receptions staff I was told that "we are not responsible for the cleaning as it is contracted out. However, if you want to come back around noon you fill out a maintenance request sheet". Unbelievable! What is the managements job if not to monitor the cleanliness of their resort. the TV was ancient but the kitchen facilities once cleaned were good. Modern Fridge, cook-top, oven and microwave but the dishwasher was very noisy. the highlight of the resort was the hot pools area - fantastic.
Be aware that you are quite some distance from the facilities of Wanaka. One delight within walking distance was Rosy's Bar and Cinema - a real treat to avail yourselves of.

Room Tip: If you do decide to go here, make absolutely sure you view your room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dunedin, New Zealand
42
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overall, really enjoyable. A couple of new staff on, who were coming up to speed with the Advantage Plus System.
Downstairs room was noisy with other guests banging communual entry doors and cloncking around in the upstairs rooms at all hours of the night.
TV receprion was crap, to put in midly.
Facilities are excellent, hot pools, bar, resturant and the people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon in May 2012. We were on a self drive trip and had been booking our next accommodation from each location.
Grand Mercure did not disappoint! It was reasonably priced and our unit was modern, very well equipped and clean, great kitchen and a fabulously comfortable bed.
A few small things that reduced the review from excellent:
The lack of fly screens on the windows meant we had regular visits from friendly bugs.
The TV mounted on the angled wall in the bedroom pointed away from the bed (not sure where you are intended to view it from) and it wasn't wired in anyway so it didn't work.
A surprise repairman let himself in one afternoon with no warning. Potentially embarrassing for honey- mooners; we were making lunch at the time.

Note to newly weds too: Don't expect a fuss to be made of you, or even an acknowledgement that this is your honeymoon. Unlike Asia, the US and the rest of the South Pacific, it just doesn't seem to be part of the NZ Hospitality Industry service culture.

Aside from these minor things, this was definitely our favourite place to stay on the NZ South Island and we will definitely be back! Loved every moment of staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit upstairs in the wing down the front, closest to town and you will be away from everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were not impressed with this hotel...one of the most expensive in town... over $200 NZD.....thought it would be special. We were "upgraded" to a newer wing....a nice gesture. The bed was fantastic for sure...but nothing special about the room. Nicely redone bathroom but the shower door was hung improperly and was worried it would break. Dinner was great..although too pricey....breaksfast..so..so. Not worth the cost for sure. I would go somewhere else in twon. Had to ask repeatedly for coffee. Dry museli? That was a first on the trip. Not our worst hotel in New Zealand....and certainly not the best.

Room Tip: Try another place and save some money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigFella15
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
819 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
358 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $103 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing