We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay in 1-Bedroom Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a 1-bedroom apartment for 2 nights at this hotel. We got a good deal on Wotif and I think the value was overall very good. After a week of travelling in the north island, we were excited to spread out in this larger space and use the laundry facilities.

When we arrived at the Grand Mercure, it seemed to be a very slow time at the resort, which did not bother us. The resort is spread out around the lobby and large pool area, which includes two pools and many hot tubs surrounding it. The pool area was very nice, and we enjoyed going to the hot tubs at night.

Our apartment was spacious and included a small kitchen area (stocked with plenty of dishes, cutlery, etc), a sitting area with a coach and TV, a bedroom with its own TV, and a bath with a large tub/shower. We really liked that both TVs had DVD players built in because we had some DVDs with us to watch. The stacked washer/dryer units were small, but they were good quality and we did several loads of laundry. The kitchen had everything we needed and was in good condition. The hotel offered free wifi, which my husband liked. There was plenty of free parking right outside our door, which was very convenient.

The resort is located close to town, about a 5 minute drive. We had rain for most of our stay, so we didn't walk at all, but I imagine it would be a nice walk. We ate at a great restaurant in town our first night, Alivate, which was recommende by the front desk attendent.

Our only issue with this resort was the warm room temperature when we first arrived. Before we went to dinner, we opened some windows to cool things down. However, when we returned, so many bugs and moths had entered through the open windows. We spent about 30 minutes killing these bugs and moths and realized we couldn't keep the windows open because there were no screens to keep the bugs out. We called reception and requested a fan, which they brought to our room and this worked well for the rest of our stay. I don't think this hotel requires air conditioning, as the nights were cool, but some screens on the windows would've been nice so we could get fresh air without the bugs. Or perhaps they should provide fans in the rooms for summer months. Our apartment was on the first floor, so the bug situation might've been worse than an upper level unit, but I wouldn't recommend keeping windows open if you stay at this resort.

Overall, we had a good stay at this resort and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. The bed was very comfortable and we got a great night's sleep both nights, once we had the fan. Wanaka is a great place to visit and the resort was a good, central location to explore the town and nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAgirl505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 980 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

Rented an apartment through Book a Batch and ended up with a privately owned apartment. The whole reason to visit this vast ski complex is to enjoy the 'ten hot pools' which weren't hot. Out of the seven spa pools, two were warm. The three big pools were cold. We complained and things improved but none were close to hot and one if the pools warmed to luke warm. Very disappointing Considering we were way out of town and expected to luxuriate in the heated water. I would expect some restrictions during low season but this was blatantly misleading. When we complained we were told the pools are 'semi heated' ...... We paid a premium to stay here which wasn't worth it. We would have been better off in town at a motel with a spa pool

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whittakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We booked a 1 bedroom with porta cot and everything was as expected. We had fantastic views and the room was very modern and clean. We ordered room service and thought $81 NZ was rather expensive for only 2 mains but when we got them the good was first class! It was like fine dinning but in the comfort of our room as our 8.5 month old was asleep. Its not walking distance of the town however it is a short drive. Thought enjoyed the resort and wish we had of stayed 2 nights. Even enjoyed some NZ wine out on the back yard will lovely viewd

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

stayed in a superior room in Feb 2012, wonderful large vaulted room more like a small cottage, huge bed and loads of space, complete with sofa, desk area, free wifi in room,huge jacuzzi bath etc and friendly helpful service, (gave advice and leaflet on local hikes and treks when most hotels in NZ only push the paid for escorted hikes and activities) nice peaceful countryside location just 3 mins drive from main town

Room Tip: superior room was well worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a three week tour of NZ. We'd booked a package so no choice of hotels. We can't comment on value of individual places therefore but we do get to compare and contrast lots of NZ hotels.

We found this to be our worst hotel in NZ. You may think I'm picky when you read the review: possibly, but it was an accumulation of small things that disappointed us. Your experience may be different.

The hotel is a modern (probably recently built) complex out of the main township and away from shops, restaurants, bars, lake etc. I didn't see any other places to eat and drink adjacent to the hotel - and it's too far to walk into town. Hence you can't drink unhless you do it at the hotel..

The units are two storey: each subdivision contains three rooms, one downstairs and two upstairs all sharing a common front door.

What went wrong for us?

When we arrived, they didn't have our booking. Every other hotel in our holiday worked perfectly so I put the mistake down to Mercure: the receptionist herself commented that we were not the first guests it had occurred to that day

We were put in a north facing room - upstairs. The stairs are steep and it was hard work getting the suitcases up and through the two sets of doors. We couldn't do it quietly and nor could our neighbours.when they left early next morning. The design of the rooms means that the noise from multiple doors and staircases is communicated widely. And the car park is gravel - so you get more noise from the cars coming and going therefore. So don't expect a peaceful night.

Our north facing room had a view over the car park: south facing rooms have a lovely view of the snowy mountains and lake. North facing rooms have a balcony and get two chairs. South facing rooms have a table on their balcony. Why so mean with the north facing? Since they apparently don't expect them to be used, why not give you a larger room instead.

When we got in, we found a small room and what seemed to be a nice bathroom. The bathroom looked OK - it had two sinks. But there was nowhere to put down your toiletries. Why not take a sink out and give you a shelf??

The bedroom itself was small and dominated by a large bed. To be fair, the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. But there was nowhere to put your cases down. So I had to move the two chairs and small round coffee table so I could put the suitcases somewhere - there was no space on the floor. Why not provide a smaller bed and a bit of space???

We decided it would be nice to have a cup of tea. But couldn't see any cups or drink making facilities. They were on a tray in the wardrobe! But you couldn't open the wardrobe doors fully because they banged against the bed - so we had to attempt to tease the drink items out through the gap that was accessible. I was starting to swear.

We put the kettle and cups and tea bags on the desk - the only possible place as the coffee table was nowhere near a plug. But suspended over the desk about 5foot 6in off the floor is the television - a traditional CRT not flat screen - as there's nowhere else to put it. But every time I went past it or tried to do anything with the cups on the desk, I banged my head. And so did my wife. We ended up hanging a towel from it to warn us. Frankly it was dangerous and I left with a headache. I started yelling and continued every time I hit my head - which was often.

Back to the tea making. Need to fill the kettle - but it won't fit under the tap in either of the sinks!!!!! We ended up filling the mugs and tipping them into the kettle. Ridiculous. Imagine the shouts of frustration.

We thought we'd watch a bit of TV and relax - there were twelve channels tuned in, but only 4 different ones. Doh!!!

Eventually bedtime came. But we couldn't draw the curtains fully as the heading tape was damaged and the curtains were falling off the track. But the light coming in was useful, as the bedside light didn't work.

We didn't use the restaurant - we didn't fancy what was on offer and it looked pricey. So we drove into Wanaka and enjoyed the lake.

The receptionist was OK but not especially friendly or helpful. No porters offered so had to carry our own bags etc.

Wifi was free and unlimited. Excellent.

Wanaka is a nice place. The Grand Mercure Oakridge wasn't nice for us. You have been warned.

Room Tip: South facing if you want a view. Another hotel if you want space?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Lovely hotel, booked a studio room but when we got there were upgraded to a studio apartment which was great. Very clean, modern and comfortable. The pool and spas were awesome, a nice way to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlgreeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Resort is not exactly located in the heart of wanaka, its only a short drive when heading to town about 3km. Pool was always used by us as our toddler loves the swimming pool. They also have the gym, sauna and spa to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
518 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $103 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing