We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and attractive in every way - great accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Clearbrook is great: excellent central heating; well-appointed, large and attractive rooms; views of the mountains from floor-to-ceiling living room windows; warm and secure lockers in which to store ski gear; and one short block from the main shopping/eating area, yet away from noise. As an added bonus, Dougal and Bernice (the owners) are just lovely, and couldn't be more helpful. After a terribly cold winter experience at another Wanaka motel, having seen the cramped conditions where friends stayed (for almost the same cost), and having heard what others have said about their accommodation elsewhere, we've come to the conclusion that Clearbrook has to be one of the best in Wanaka! That's what's made us go back three times and, yes, we're booked in for next year too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiierOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 335 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

We've travelled a lot around NZ and stayed in many motels, hotels etc. We paid $270 to stay in a two bedroom cottage at Clearbrook for one night. The cottage was fully equipped but quite dated, particularly the kitchen and bathroom. Of all the places we have stayed in NZ, this was by far the least value for money. The newer units looked nicer so it was a shame those were all booked.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at Clearbrook for two nights in mid-june. Beautiful view of the lake and surrounding mountains with alpine stream running through the grounds. Very comfortable and spacious apartment, well set up for families with the added bonus of having a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. Only 2 minutes from the town centre. Knowledgeable and friendly hosts.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Wanaka.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankchristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Such a beautiful spot so close to town and has everything you could ask for. The owners were so helpful and all the staff so friendly of all the places I have stayed in wanaka this would have to be by far the best one. Thanks once again for a great experience I look forward to bringing the family down in August.

Phil, Christchurch.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teapot2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Decent location, within walking distance to town centre and lake. (There are other accomodation closer though). The place basically looks like a motel externally but quite nice inside. Fully equiped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, washing machine and dryer. Very convenient. You have to pay an extra $3 for washing powder which is fine. When we first walked inside, there was a strong unpleasant odour of something we just couldn't place. It wasn't a smell of uncleanliness or anything like that. Smelly wood perhaps. It's bearable though and after a while we just got used to it. There were glass sliding doors that lead to our "courtard" with a table and 2 chairs and an ashtray for smokers. There wouldn't be much privacy though as there were no walls to separate our area from next door's. Not a big deal. Here we had a nice view of the mountains in the distance and a little stream that flowed only a metre or 2 away from us. The bathroom in our room (room1) was wheel-chair accessible so in other words the shower floor was basically the bathroom floor (no tub or shower cubicle - just a shower curtain) which meant our whole bathroom floor was wet after every shower. Overall, stay was o.k. The place was neat and tidy, parking was free, but we were disapointed as this was the most expensive of our stays in New Zealand but least impressive.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JewelzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed at Clearwater motel for 3 nights in April and it was great. The location is fantastic as it is only a 3 minute walk into town and has a lovely out look, and the babbling brook is an added bonus. The rooms are clean, large and have everything you need, the washer and dryer made life so much easier with a baby to cater for. I would definately stay here again its one of the best motels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This was a nice little motel which is worth considering if you are travelling through or staying in Wanaka. Clean rooms, newly renovated, friendly owners who were really helpful, great outlook onto a little brooke (that has its own trout) and across to some lovely mountains and close to town. Free parking on-site and internet is cheap. Wanaka is worth staying a day to explore.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryamode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Address: 72 Helwick Street | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $151 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook is an oasis of quiet comfort, within easy reach of all that Wanaka has to offer. Conveniently located in Wanaka's town centre, Clearbrook Motels offer private, self-catering units and self contained holiday homes. All are fully equipped for a rejuvenating holiday. This spacious accommodation is ideal for singles and couples on vacation or honeymoon, corporate and wedding groups, families on skiing and summer holidays as well as visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing