We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful setting with a pretty view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting with a pretty view”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had one of the apartments on the ground floor, which meant we could walk to the little spring at the bottom of the garden, which is natural and really lovely to have just outside! The room was clean and comfortable. Very big bathroom, the floor was a bit tacky, like a leisure centre, but i think it was a disabled access room so that explained the gripy lino floor.
Really peaceful setting with good kitchen facilities.
It actually overlooks some mountains so has a lovely view.
Wanaka lake is beautiful, it's a glacial lake but i was brave and took a dip! (nobody else went in,, but it was 28 celcius so it had to be done!) Wanaka has mountains the other side of the lake so we spent our whole day just chilling by the lake, as nice as being on a beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    102
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
163
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Great everyone was really friendly and frankie the brown/black cat who sits in the on his fluffy throne (an office chair) is so cute and great seeing the trout in the stream was great and the beds were nice and soft, making for a good nights sleep!!! It was an overall great trip!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IndyBirnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After much deliberation, I chose to stay at Clearbrook Motel for a family Snowboarding holiday in August – what a fantastic choice! We booked a 2 bdrm apartment for our family of four which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Location is always a priority for me and Clearbrook didn’t disappoint with the apartments located a short walk to town centre. Traveling with young children can often be very cumbersome however the staff at Clearbrook did a great job alleviating a lot of the stress by providing port a cots, high chairs and dvd players. In addition, they took service to another level by researching child friendly restaurants and placing bookings on our behalf. The Town is fantastic and the Mountains amazing – I cannot recommend Wanaka and Clearbrook Motel enough for a fantastic snowboarding holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a loft as the main bedroom. The views across to the snow capped mountains from the bed was sensational but I suppose not unusual in South Island NZ.
The spa worked a treat and soothed a weary travellers tired body. we could have stayed in Wanaka for much longer, its a lovely spot, small but up market with views on all horizons.

Room Tip: They all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReidyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
283 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'd read the reviews here on TA before booking Clearbrook, and we were not disappointed.

Not only is the location ideal, a mere minutes walk to town, the lakefront, and a grocery store, but this motel somehow still manages to be quiet and serene. The babbling brook is a bonus - whether enjoyed from the patio with a glass of wine while watching the sun go down, or lulling one to sleep at night.

The proprietors are incredibly friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed visiting with Frank, the sleek black stowaway cat, who likes to curl up on the chair next to the heater in the office, even though he doesn't officially live there!

We spent two nights in #8, an end studio unit on the upper floor - it was perfect for our needs - spacious, well laid out, nicely equipped for self-catering, spotless and comfortable. The washer and dryer were a nice addition and much needed a week into our trip.

Lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The major point of difference is the environment. Quiet, set back from the road, lovely views of mountains and a lovely brook cascading through the garden outside. Lovely place to stay. Annoying that the outside light shines through into the room at night.

Room Tip: Top floor for views - bottom floor for access to the lovely brook. I don't think it matters much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TramperNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our stay at Clearbrook was one of the highlights of our trip to NZ. Even though we were skiing most of the time, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful when we were there. They were excellent with the kids and advised us of kid friendly places to visit while we were in town. Clearbrook is 5 mins walk to the lake, and less to the shops. So close to everything. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was immaculate, the kitchen and cooking facilities were modern and clean, and there was a regular size fridge (perfect for a family of 4) and excellent clothes washing facilities. The living room was very spacious too and just right for our family. The spa was a bonus and much needed after many a day skiing, and the views, WOW, simply exhilarating. The kids asked if we could live here forever. We'll definitely be back, and I've already told all my friends about Clearbrook. Thanks for the awesome memories.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (although I'd reckon they're all pretty good).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leapym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Property: Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing