We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW. . Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Riverton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“WOW. . Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My husbarnd & I stayed here while we were travelling round. Clear brook is our all time favourite place. Absolutely Awesome. . Price was fantastic, we live in Perth & would pay at least $400 for what we got. Views were stunning, location was tops & hosts were brilliant, can't recommend Clearbrook enough. Will def be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    101
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
160
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Nice place to stay, friendly helpful staff and a short stroll into town so a pretty perfect location. Room itself was quite comfortable, the kitchen and full utensils came in very handy (and good if you're trying to save a little bit of money instead of eating out all the time). Only a few things let the place down- mainly the sleep quality. There is a very bright porch light directly outside the front door, which would be fine normally but there is a narrow glass panel (/decorative feature) that runs down beside the door which means that harsh light completely illuminates the room of a night time. Perhaps installing a small blind or curtain or a dimmer bulb or one that can be switched off by the occupant would be a good idea. I understand these lights are probably a safety requirement but perhaps some measures could be taken to ensure a better nights sleep. Bathroom was pretty average; the shower is one of those ones that has no lip/barrier on the floor which means water gets everywhere when you have a shower. The layout of the toilet and vanity was a bit odd, if you were a particularly tall or long legged person I'd say sitting on the toilet would be almost impossible- as it was I was wedged in with my knees touching the vanity and I'm of an average height. Even if the vanity was moved another half a metre this would help a bit. Lovely listening to the babbling brook of a night time. No fans or aircon in the rooms and the curtains are quite thick which means the room gets a bit stuffy of a night. Furthermore the windows and doors have no screens which means if you leave them open of a night you gets lots of mosquitos coming in. I stayed on the upper floor and the balcony was a nice addition with a nice view. Did note a strong unpleasant chemical smell when I arrived (and it lingered somewhat) obviously from some cleaning solution they use, but I've noticed others have mentioned it also, so perhaps time to switch brands? The washer and dryer in room was particularly helpful- to be able to do your own washing in room rather than trudge down to a laundry block and shove in coins and hope your clothes don't get stolen is a massive bonus! Worth noting that the property has quite a steep driveway so take caution when parking and reversing etc, particularly if you're in a rental!
Overall a pretty good place to stay with lovely staff who did their best to make my stay pleasant and feel like home. Only a few little things letting the place down (mainly the light), but nothing that can't be fixed. Would recommend and probably stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj_05529010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

These apartments are amazing. The location is awesome the apartment was clean, well equiped, and very warm plus spacious. The bonus was a well equiped laundry. The staff were very accomodating in directing us to places to eat. The Cow has the best pizza's. Highly recommended. Also I left my battery charger I got a call whilst in Arrowtown to say they had found it and would post it to me. It was waiting when we got home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Clean, comfortable place in Wanaka. Close walking distance to the scenic wonderful small town of Wanaka, one of our favorite places. Has a small balcony overlooking a creek. Large unit, comfortable bed, kitchen facilities, and washer and dryer for getting caught up on laundry which was very convenient. Great views to mountains and the night we had arrived it snowed overnight and woke up to beautiful fresh snow capped mountains. Wanaka is a wonderful place! This was a very good place but a bit pricey but had very good conveniences (kitchen & laundry appliances).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The location is just about perfect. No view of the lake but magnificent views of the mountains. The motel is located in the main street, one block from the main shopping area. it's great for walking into town and there is no traffic noise. Being built for the view means they don't get much sun, which would be a nice bonus in winter. The units are well equipped with a washing machine and dish washer and plus a decent TV. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The Motel is not cheap but if you are willing to pay the price you will enjoy your stay.I must say it is a pity to have to pay for internet access. It's time this was provided as part of the service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Credo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Location was great....but all the other places we stayed (which were much cheaper) at.. there was no charge for wi-fi or for local phone calls...all three light shades in the living room were full of flies and it hadnt been vacumed in a while....so for me and for the money spent I was not impressed

Room Tip: Check out the settlers cottages in Arrowtown...it was awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

In our 4 week tour of NZ this was one of the nicest motels we stayed at. Excellent location just outside town but easy to walk in to all the shops and restaurants. Lovely large apartments with super views to the mountains and a family of ducks wandering round near the very pretty creek that runs through the property. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wish we had stayed longer it was so nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Property: Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing