We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Zealand Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Zealand Tour”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Only stayed here one night but what a superb location. Great room overlooking the brook and great facilities. Washing and drying in the room was a great help! Will definitely be on our list for a longer stay next time we are in NZ.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    104
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
164
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the clearbrook motel (2a & a 2yo) as part of a South Island trip.

We were impressed on arrival with the motel and the lady on reception seemed fairly friendly and relatively helpful. The room was lovely - a great size and a gorgeous view. It was well appointed and also had a washing machine which was a welcome addition after 4 or 5 days travelling with a toddler.

The motel is less than 2 minutes walk to the top of the Main Street of Wanaka - fabulous location! The town is just gorgeous, by far our favourite of the 4 places we stayed on the trip (lake tekapo being one). It has great shops, supermarket & a lovely foreshore with lots of coffee shops and eateries. We only stayed 1 night but wished we'd stayed longer.

Our son also loved feeding bread to the resident ducks from our balcony.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay. My comment about the inflexibility comes from the attitude of the gentleman on the front desk when I asked if they might have a spare airer we could borrow - his response wasn't particularly friendly and instead, rather short & dismissive. I understand he may not have had one, but it was his reaction that most perturbed me. We experienced a similar response when we asked if we might check out slightly later to work in with our toddlers feeds.

I also felt the room was a fair bit more expensive than other places we'd stayed but again this may have something to do with the destination (and not knowing enough about nz, I can't comment).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and with a slightly more friendly attitude, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have access to a grassed area where the ducks are but there is a brook runnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here two nights and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was roomy and very well appointed with a full kitchen, two separate bedrooms (one upstairs), a spacious bathroom with spa bath and laundry facilities, a living area with 2 couches and small dining table, and a great view. The spa was great after a long day of hiking. The only complaint is that the furnishings are looking a bit worn. Despite this I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were initially impressed with this motel - nice location, well maintained and better-than average fittings. However, then had to mark them down on 3 points:
1. There was a harsh spotlight immediately outside the front door, and an un-curtained column of glass bricks next to the door - the result was a room lit up like early-morning throughout the night.
2. Lots of decorative cushions of all shapes and size on the bed, but none of them sized to supplement the single, thin, lumpy, feather pillow for each of us on the bed. We didn't discover this until after 11 p.m. - far too late to get some action from the office. Very few places now have only 2 pillows in a double room, and most have at least one hypo-allergenic pillow available in the room.

Putting these two issues together did mean we got a very poor night's sleep.

The worst fault though was at check-out - we had reserved a room with 2 continental breakfasts well in advance, but when we came to check out we were asked to pay MORE than the agreed rate. The girl on reception said prices had gone up since we booked - it was only a few dollars extra but what hotel / motel thinks a contract is not a contract? I told her I'd pay the agreed rate only, and after my insistence that is what we paid - but the request was at best unprofessional and at worse a con.

Room Tip: Check position of the outside lights to make sure they won't keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hello IMUK, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Clearbrook. In response to your comment regarding the "harsh spotlight" outside your door, this is there for security and also so that you can see your way if returning to your room at night after dark. If you'd have let us know that this bothered you, we could have had the light switched off. Secondly with regards to pillows, we do provide two spare pillows in every bedroom (which are also hypo-allergenic), these are located in the drawers below the luggage rack as stated on the in-room information. The pillows on the bed are high-quality feather pillows with quilted pillow protectors. Finally, we apologise for the simple error regarding the breakfast price. As mentioned, in the time since you made your booking our breakfast prices have gone up by $2 and the new price was accidentally applied to your booking. As soon as we realised the discrepancy we fixed it and never insisted that you pay the higher price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a breath of fresh air. With a view of the mountains, a balcony overlooking the babbling brook, ducks waddling around made our stay an absolute pleasure.
The room was large, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The kitchen provided all amenities and a bonus was the washing machine and dryer. The hosts were friendly and very helpful.
Very conveniently located to the town centre but on a quiet street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good weather helps I know, but Wanaka made an impression. Clearbrook is ideally situated looking towards the hills/mountains with a 'clear brook flowing in front of the units. Spacious accommodation on two floors for our 2 bed apartment. Nice bathroom with jacuzzi and laundry facilities. Also able to eat in with the good cooking arrangements. Friendly and helpful staff at check-in and out. Wifi is not free but I guess you can't have everything. Would stay again if we are lucky enough to get back to NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Accommodation was spacious, clean. Great views. Close to restaurants and shops.
We were made to feel very welcome and very impressed with the hospitality.

Would definitly come back again and recommend to our friends

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynH233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Property: Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing