We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will definately return.”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We loved listening to the brook running beside the building as we sat outside looking at the mountains. We had a ground floor one bedroom with spa bath. The room was large and well furnished with full kitchen and your own laundry facilities in the room. Very friendly receptionist. Will definately stay here again on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbear93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankali, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay at Clearbrook and we look forward to accommodating you again on your next trip to New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    103
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
164
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed there for a night. It's not bad, but it's not great either. The rooms come with full facility like dishwasher, washing machine & dryer. These will come in handy for those who plan for longer stay.

Pros:
* Spacious room
* Washer & dryer provided
* We were given free internet access which is a major bonus (one of the low season perks)

Cons:
* Lingering ''chemical'' smell in the room. We think it's from the cleaning liquid or dishwater detergent
* Toilet condition is slightly worn off and the floor gets slightly wet post shower
* No view from the room(s). The Motel is actually facing a small stream which is right nxt to a road. There are cars parked along side that road, thus for ground floor unit, for privacy sake, you need to draw the curtain.

Should we go to Wanaka again, we might try out other accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor unit if you travel light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugong78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankali, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope you had an enjoyable time in Wanaka.

With regards to your feedback and photos of the bathroom, I am happy to report that we have had our bathrooms renovated and all wall paper replaced. Incidentally this was done merely days after your stay! We had to wait until a quiet time to have this done as it took several days for the rooms to be completed.

Should you chose to stay with us at Clearbrook again we would be delighted to have you and ensure that you were placed in a room on the first floor with beautiful mountain views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Located on a babbling brook just one quiet block from the central shopping district, the Clearbrook provides complete facilities at a reasonable price.

Our large, comfortable room had a complete kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. We saved a lot by having a dinner and breakfast for four in our room. Wi-fi was a reasonable $10 per day. The motel charged $4 for laundry detergent for one load, so get yours at the large supermarket a block and a half away. Start your wash early as both washer and dryer take a long time.

The only negative was a shower stall consisting of a curtain around a section of the roomy bathroom floor. It was practical enough, especially with the powerful electric heater in the bathroom, but after a day’s hiking not as welcome as the Jacuzzi tubs in a couple of our other New Zealand lodgings.

The first room offered us, number 7, smelled like someone’s pet had soiled the carpet. The replacement room was fine.

All in all, the Clearbrook served us well in Wanaka and we would recommend it.

(P.S.: Not just for me, but if you find a review useful, please give a click. Some of us spend a lot of time doing these.)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We did enjoy our stay in Clearbrook Motel. Apartments were large and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wanaka was a great choice after our adventure packed time in Queenstown! Quiet location and great food!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham11126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We arrived for our two night stay and were upgraded to the 3 bedroom apartment which was massive!!!! Huge lounge/diner which joined the kitchen. One bedroom had en-suite and all other bedrooms were a very good size. It felt more like a cozy house than anything.

The kitchen had everything needed and it was very very close to town ( 1 min walk) The staff were lovely and gave us maps and everything we needed on arrival. I would recommended this motel and if/when I'm back in Wanaka I'll certainly stay again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliePaulT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Only a one night stop but we were very pleased with this motel. Well-appointed and spacious studio. Central location. Bonus was the washing machine in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilsteadUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed in Wanaka for one night on ,our NZ tripin January/February, wished we'd booked for longer as the accommodation was superb. We had a ground floor apartment on the corner, whch was lovely. The small terrace was a real traet in the evening, with a glass of wine. The apartment was very spacious and included a washing machine & dryer wish was very useful, as we were travelling for a month. Wanaka itself is a lovely place and in our opinion far nicer than the more popular resort of Queenstown. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a touch of luxury at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Property: Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing