We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #10 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Absolutely lovely property. It is conveniently located on Lake Wanaka, about a 15 min walk to the main part of town. Rooms and bathrooms are fabulous. Dave is incredibly hospitable. Strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Nothing is perfect but this place is close. Ed and his charming wife were welcoming and helpful. The fixtures and fittings are all of good quality. The scenery is fantastic, the town is about a 15 minute walk along the shore of the lake. Pity it's such a long way away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We were only able to stay one night at Wanaka Homestead Lodge, but it was truly delightful. Ed warmly greeted us, showed us the guest coffee, snack & fridge area and then to our room. We stayed in the lodge, in a nicely sized room with a good sized bathroom and large closet. It's a very short walk down to the lake, through a gorgeous park. A quick drive into town gets you to a lot of great restaurants, most right on the lake. We had a great cooked to order breakfast in the beautiful dining room, and really enjoyed comparing travel tips with our fellow guests.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickiandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely, we wished we had time to stay longer! 4 rooms in the lodge itself and 2 cottages with the managers living off-site (although just a few mins away if needed). So it felt very relaxed, hardly saw the other guests. Lots of common areas inside/outside including a hot tub, patio and BBQ. Rooms were very comfortable, clean, spacious. Only 2-3 TV channels but the wifi is good. The town and restaurants are say 15mins walk away (mostly along the edge of the lake) but we opted to drive it after a long day and it took 30 seconds. The new managers were wonderful, very welcoming and relaxed about a slightly later check out and staying to use the wifi on the patio for a few hours to book up the next part of our trip. That made a real difference to us and a nice change to the draconian 10am check outs we've experienced elsewhere along our route!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. The lake is an easy walk across the street and we were able to walk into town for dinner. Our hosts were extremely helpful, including providing ice packs when my husband hurt his back. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JEC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wanaka Homestead is a nice homely lodge which is located quite centrally to the main attractions.

They were very helpful in organizing and/or recommending things to do or see in Wanaka (which in itself is a really beautiful place)!

Room was also cozy and breakfast selection plentiful. Breakfast is also a great opportunity to mingle with other guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdatedmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have just recently stayed three nights at the Wanaka Homestead Lodge. Our room was in the main lodge. Our room for the first night was the South room which was nice but being quite a bit taller than average I found the sloping ceiling a bit restrictive. Lisa kindly arranged to move us to the North room for the next two nights which was wonderful. The room was considerably bigger with a view out to the garden and lots of light.
Lisa was a wonderful host along with Ed who we met on the last morning as he'd been away for the weekend. And of course Douglas the Border Terrier who is very much a part of the experience. What a wonderful quiet little dog. He was never intrusive.
Breakfasts were a great experience with other guests at the large dining table. Full cooked was on offer with eggs prepared in your preferred way, bacon and little hash browns.
It is an easy picturesque walk to the Wanaka town centre. I didn't time the walk but guess it's probably about 20 minutes.
The Wanaka Homestead Lodge is definitely a place we would stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwis-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing