We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #10 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are so glad that we stayed at Wanaka Homestead Lodge & Cottages for two nights. Ed and Carol were wonderful, helpful and kind hosts. We really appreciated the free (and unlimited) wifi, access to a washing machine and dryer (also free), a beautiful lodge, a well-equipped room, and a hearty breakfast. The Lodge is just a 5 minute walk from the Lake and just a few minutes to town by car. Our room was large and clean, the shower hot and the bed very comfortable. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks, Ed and Carol, for sharing your beautiful lodge with travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorgirl461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This a very good family-run place in the lovely little town of Wanaka. Carol and Ed were gracious hosts. The full breakfast (eggs, bacon, and all the fixings) was excellent. Cold cereals were also offered. I agree with the other comments that this is a restful spot and is convenient for walks by Lake Wanaka into the town itself. We stayed in the Lodge and thought our room, while not large, was perfect for our needs. Since we were about a week into our trip, we appreciated the Homestead's free laundry facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay for a week and quite settled in! It's a bit of a walk from town but of course that enables the charming peaceful location. Ed, Carol and Andrew looked after us superbly and gave some spot-on guidance about where to go and what to do. I thought Douglas seemed a little aloof when he realised that I wasn't eating bacon (please remember him when making your breakfast order). Ed's free wifi is quite a bit faster than my Auckland connection but I don't think I abused that too much. Much appreciated though. Loved the huge array of solar water heating tubes on the roof.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank McClann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We hired one of the Cottages as a group and had a wonderful stay, enjoying our walks along the lake into town, the tranquil setting, making use of the BBQ and hot tub. Friendly hosts and cute dog - Douglas. Walk the back way down to the lake, through the gardens rather than along the road, as it's far more picturesque. We didn't mind the walk into town and back, and appreciated the peace, but make sure you're happy being a little further out from central. Not that Wanaka is very big mind. The Rob Roy tramp was a highlight from our trip of the south island, and worth the drive out there, much on gravel tracks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages is a beautiful spot just a short walk from town. We were glad we stayed outside of town because the center of town is really busy and pretty crowded. I assume the center of town quiets down at night but during the day it's full of people and traffic. It was great to get to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages after a long day of biking to find a peaceful lawn area, a beautiful NZ-style lodge (great architecture) and a comfortable room. The hosts are welcoming, the room stylish and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very nice place to stay in Wanaka. Beautiful garden and various facilities.Specially love the hot tub.Carol was so kind and considerate.I took a photo in the dark night. See how beautiful it is.
My wife and I love Wanaka and this lodge both.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -ling000-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in main house and as with other reviewers felt walls a little thin. Had great welcome and shown all facilities including hot tub. Emphasis was on a homely feel and this was achieved. It was a shame we could not stop longer as it was in a beautiful setting. A little way out from eating places so would need to drive. The bed was so comfotable and sheets as smooth as silk. The only negative thing is we wished that there was tea and coffee facilities in the room instead of on the lower foor communal area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth/Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing