We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveler rating
148
249
179
51
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
148
249
179
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest kitchen great location the mexican restaurant common kitchen central location shared kitchen stay there again short stay restaurants and shops pleasant stay easy access centre of town laundry room view of the lake only stayed one night south island beanie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 651 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Arrived midnight and getting and to the room was no problem at all. Great view from my room easy access in and out. Comfy beds and great pillows. Friendly staff will definitely be back thanks Wanaka Hotel

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 752jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Dear 752jessica, Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We really appreciate your fantastic review and are pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again, Regards Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

Never, never again! Whatever you do, do not accept booking for Rooms 151-157. These are down a long, steep set of stairs so that if you have heavy luggage, either way you are taking your life in your hands. No lift access. The rooms appear to have paper-thin wall construction, so that as you walk down the corridor you can hear conversations going on behind closed doors as you pass.

The bathroom was designed by an architect with a great sense of humour. Fairly certain that the doors were hung on the wrong side as the light switch (which should be handy to the touch as you enter) is actually right round the opened door on the far wall, carefully positioned just above the floor-mounted rubber doorstop. The rubber door stop is necessary because, without it, as anyone opened the door they would kneecap both knees as your partner sat on the cramped toilet. Unfortunately, this same doorstop is precisely where your right big toe stubs upon it as you go to the loo (if you're a bloke). The (ice-cold) porcelain handbasin has been carefully placed alongside the toilet so that even the leanest of people will find a freezing edge jammed into their back while using it. The shower has old-style seperate turn taps - which makes finding the correct water temperature a good way to while away part of your morning.

The hotel appeared popular with skiers (and their entourage of corridor-chasing, door-slamming, screaming children (both late at night and (literally) at dawn)), and consequently if you are a skier, you are unlikely to sleep in and miss any of your ski-able day. Leave your alarm clock at home.

Nice to see hot chocolate provided in addition to the standard tea and coffee.

It would have been nice to have had some wine glasses in the room ....

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank fergusp2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear Lake_Road_B_and_B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, it would have been great to hear from you while you were here so we could address your concerns in person. Regards Jo, Wanaka Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Had a great few days at Wanaka Edge Apartments, really friendly staff, nice rooms. Spa and sauna for relaxing after big day on the mountain. Nice and close to town with an easy stroll to the main street and lake.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpark_264049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear jpark_264049,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Wanaka Edge Apartments. Hopefully next time we see you in Wanaka you will come and stay with us here at Wanaka Hotel. Regards Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is one of the best features. Unfortunately it rained the whole 2 days we were there and spent more time in the hotel room than we normally would. The offered a common kitchen & laundry for hotel guests. The parking is limited, the Internet is free but really slow (guess everyone was in their room on the Internet) and the shower pressure was appalling. Had to stay against the wall of the shower to get wet, the hotter the shower the worse the pressure. Our room 116 had a great mountain view and down the street. Other rooms looked like they might only see the building in front.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CycleChick001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Dear CycleChick001, Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed our Great Location, I am sorry the weather meant you weren't able to explore more of Wanaka's fantastic scenic locations. I am also sorry about the water pressure issue, we have since discovered a faulty pump and have repaired so there should be no further issues with this. We hope you will make it back to Wanaka soon. Regards Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights. The receptionist was wonderful, really helpful and pleasant.
The hotel kitchen was great and we used it a lot as my son was tired after snowboarding so we did not always want to go out. The laundry facilities were excellent also.
The Mexican restaurant and pub were great. Also, the room and the hotel itself was really warm.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiwijo066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2016

Dear Kiwijo066, Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We really appreciate your great review and are really pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka again. Regards Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews