We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with good location”
Review of Wanaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed one night at Wanaka hotel during our NZ vacation. In summary the hotel provides a decent stay despite looking old and dated. The location is good with restaurants and a minimart across the road. Check in and out was quick and smooth and the service was good.

The rooms seems to be going thru some upgrading and ours had a newly renovated toilet which had a proper mixer for hot and cold water. There are rooms where you have to turn on two seperate taps to get warm water. For those travelling with alot of luggage do take note that there's no lift and you have to carry your luggage up the stairs if you get a room on level 2.

Apart from the issues above the hotel satisfies the basic needs that one would look for comfortably. Just do not expect any luxuries. This is more of a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkw-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 557 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for a night during our recent tour of the south island. Despite only staying for one night, we needed all our cases for our family-of-three.

My initial impression was marred by the 10cm (3-inch) step from up to the hotel reception area, with no slope or other option nearby to gain access. This was far from ideal if you've got a big suitcase, a buggy, or a wheelchair. I didn't have an issue, but I was concerned that other residents would...

Then we were greeted by the rather grumpy receptionist who quickly processed our stay and stressed how important it was that we used the restaurant... we didn't.

We were disappointed to find that our room was one floor up, and there was no lift (elevator) to get up there. Cue Dad to hump three large-ish cases up the stairs to our room, which was nice enough when we got there.

If I wanted Mexican food I'd have gone to Mexico, and I certainly wasn't going to go to the hotel restaurant after that low-key welcome, so we went to the Speight's pub and restaurant next door, which was delicious, good value, and lots of facilities for kids and stuff. Great.

All the above happened in the dark, as we arrived on a winter's evening. We realised why we'd gone to Wanaka when we opened the window the next morning to see the incredible views of the mountains and lakes, which are particularly good from the restaurant where we ate breakfast. I had an excellent eggs benedict with an average coffee.

It's a good place in an excellent location, but I suggest you consider other options if you have a pushchair / buggy / wheelchair or would need assistance lifting bags up stairs...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdfbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great little room, having selected a lakeview room we got just that and what a view it was!! Nice and cosy, very warm in the night which was great when the cool air settled across the lake at night. Cute wee balcony. As others have mentioned, he room was a bit dated but i liked it, thought it gave the place some character! Basic facilities, all you would need really for a nights stay and with restaurants/bars situated with the hotel or just a minutes walk away you are truly spoilt for choice. However i would only think it was suitable for a few nights stay. Lovely friendly staff. Will surely be back again!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a lakeview room if it available, beautiful view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael9501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved the view from this hotel so spectacular and our room was really nice.
The building is oldish but retro cool.
Great massive bed so comfy. Really quiet too big sleep in!
service was really friendly check in check out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidincaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room was quite comfortable, had a balcony, and was clean. The room view of the lake was spectacular and most pleasant to see first thing in the morning. Hotel staff were approachable and friendly. The location is most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently spent a night at the Wanaka Hotel, cost was $99 and for that we got a Queen sized bed plus a set of bunks, everything was clean and tidy including the bathroom, bed was reasonably comfortable, TV not large but adequate, even a small balcony with chairs. We never ate in either of the hotel restaurants, we cooked our own breakfast in the very well equipped kitchen for use by guests, an excellent idea to avoid eating out all the time.
Receptionist was pleasant and helpful, all in all pleasant night's stay.
Would recommend if you are not looking for superior accommodation but something adequate for a night's stay in a good location.

Room Tip: Bottom floor towards back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is nothing special, but it's a good place to lay your head for a night. A great location and reasonable price, I'd recommend this to a friend. My husband and I reserved a room on our way driving between Franz Josef and Te Anau. The staff was helpful and while outdated, the room was just fine for a night's rest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 484AshleyT484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Hotel

Address: 71 Ardmore Street, P.O. Box 26,, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Value Hotel right in the center of Wanaka, only one-minute walk to the Lake and Town Center. Full Restaurant and Bar Facilities on-site. Plenty of free, off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Wanaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing