We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Dated”
Review of Wanaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dirty and Dated”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In an economy room one can accept dated furniture - including an Austin Powers style duvet - rejoice in the classic style radio attached to the wall, and find 60s plumbing an engineering quirk, but not poor housekeeping.

We were fortunate enough to have the previous guests contact lens on the floor next to the bed - important as I was running low of my own - and a dead wasp in the window frame that was visible should the net curtain ever had been moved to air the room.

It may have been the cheapest place in Wanaka that we could find, but this level of housekeeping was entirely unacceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftyguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate all feedback and have passed your comments onto our Housekeeping Team. Regards, Jo Bruce, Manager, Wanaka Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    200
    150
    47
    18
See reviews for
108
269
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

our rooms were basic but clean and warm, which - in winter in wanaka - this was all we cared about! the bathrooms are dated but functional and the staff were always very friendly and helpful. definitely check out the cheeky monkey cafe - we had breakfast there every day for a week! great food.

Room Tip: we were in a room towards the back of the hotel (away from the road) which was nice and quiet, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I always visit this place when I fancy a few beers in the Bullock Bar and cannot drive. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here twice (on separate occassions) and had a great experience both times. The rooms are a bit out dated, but clean and comfortable. The prices were fab, location is wonderful and the WiFi is very reasonably priced. Also had a great breakfast at the Cheeky Monkey next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel Wanaka has average rooms with fantastic service. The rooms were old and out-dated but clean. We had some trouble with our heater, but they provided us with a little fan heater which helped warm up the place. This hotel is in a good location, with a very pretty view. It is spacious and would be good for those travelling on a budget. The receptionist was extremely helpful and checked the road report for us on our departure and was willing to help in any way she could.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor if you’re travelling with a lot of luggage as there is no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantel-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurnell
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Had a great stay in Wanaka Hotel , the staff are more then friendly and happy to help. The room are a little old but still very clean. We got ungraded to a garden room and was very happy with this. Its in a great spot and very close to everything and the lake across the road. Would be more then happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh01Kurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The outstanding friendliness of staff made up for the small, dated hotel rooms. A little over-priced compared to other establishments in south island tourist destinations.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are at ground level - easy access. Lake facing rooms have a great view but need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Hotel

Property: Wanaka Hotel
Address: 71 Ardmore Street, P.O. Box 26,, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Value Hotel right in the center of Wanaka, only one-minute walk to the Lake and Town Center. Full Restaurant and Bar Facilities on-site. Plenty of free, off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing