We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Korean surprise in Wanaka”

Shinaburo Korean Eating House
Ranked #31 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: One and only casual Korean cuisine in Wanaka. Korean food is becoming most popular choice of meal worldwide since it is recognised as "healthy", "nourishing", and yet "fun and tasty". The irresistible flavours will certainly grab your SEOUL!
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great Korean surprise in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a lovely and delicious dinner yesterday evening.
I visited Korea some years ago and found back at Shinaburo meals I discovered over there. We had a delicious Shinaburo Dinner box and a Bulgogi, followed by a tasteful Pabingsoo Sandae. The waitress was very friendly and the bill... very light !We will definitely come back next time in Wanaka.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baertpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    37
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Up near the top of Ardmore Street, going away from the lake, you will find this small authentic Korean Restaurant. Beautiful food, delightful friendly staff. So much better than the "tourist" eateries that crowd the waterfront. Oh, and it's BYO for wine - another big plus. You will be glad you went.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Light and delightful food with just the right level of heat. Great value and friendly service. This place stands out in Wanaka.

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Everything was good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very authentic and great service. Instead of ordering dessert we had another main course. All the ingredients looked and tasted fresh and there were no flavor-crossovers between dishes. The kimchi was an excellent topping.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Deutschland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic food for a unbeatable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The first day we went there for dinner. We Bad Bibmbab which came along with honemade kimchi and a misu soup. It was so fantastic that we ordert another portion of kimchi and misu. Also the dessert was really good. So we decided to have lunch at that Korean restaurant the next day.
We can just recomment to go there an try that fantastic food.

Helpful?
Thank maiki92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinaburo Korean Eating House also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Shinaburo Korean Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing