We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I write this as we are on our last night of a 4 night stay here and we are quite sad to leave. We have loved every minute of our time at the Lakeside apartments and Wanaka itself.

The apartments are really stunning. So well laid out, furnished, appointed and they are huge! They are very centrally located, have to-die-for views and the staff are fantastic.

Even though it has only been low-20's in terms of temperature while we've been here, the kids have swum in the pools almost every day as they are heated over the Summer months. If it is not warm enough to use the pool there are 2 spas available.

Great BBQ facilities out the front too. Cook your dinner while looking out over Lake Wanaka and the beautiful southern alps, or relax in the comfort of your apartment on the balcony with a wine watching the sunset. All good!

Every apartment has it's own under cover garage as well, which would be especially great if you came here during the snow season to keep the snow, etc off your car. Apartments are serviced daily.

You really do not want for anything here and we are leaving wishing we could stay longer and will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
170
236
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
910 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. We were in the area for wine tasting in the central Otago region. What a nice apt! It is so wonderful we decided to cook in! All the comforts of home, excellent views, laundry, comfortable furniture...who could ask for more!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

These apartments have everything, including a washing machine and tumble drier. They are huge and so, so good - great view and balcony, fully fitted out with everything you could want, even 2 TVs if you have that need. The guy managing it, Gary, was great and so helpful. Definitely worth staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Wanaka is a great starting point for a Southland walking and sight seeing visit. The drive from Queenstown is a bit long if you avoid the heights of the Crown ranges road (wise even in march). You will arrive at Lakeside very easily as it is situated exactly as it is portrayed right by the lake.

Views superb as listed. Convenience for town superb. Facilities in the deluxe suite are just great. Spotlessly clean they are obviously time shares but managed very well indeed. Single garage under cover and lift available if you have more than one or two bags to unload.

The opportunities for walking are limitless from casual strolls for older visitors through hikes that will challenge a twenty something. Simplest is at the ten km you can take strolling to Beacon point from outside the door just turn left and follow the path. You could keep going round the lake but that might take a while!

Kitchen is fully stocked and thee is a New World supermarket in town.
Try a visit to Cinema Paradiso. Enjoyable if a little bohemian and rather full of back packers who still have a little growing up to do.
Great coffee and eating places abound in Wanaka, simple pizza/pasta at Urban Grind, the cafe next door to the apartments (forget name) does great espresso and cakes but our favourite was Ritual in Helwick street. Open seven days and just great food and coffee in a pleasant atmosphere clearly a local favourite.

Places to not kiss are endless but the trek up to Rob Roy Glacier is impressive. Not for those in trainers and without rain/wind protection (it is a glacier) but you can stop at the upper view point for lunch and be back well in time before Ritual closes for more coffee.

Any down side to Lakeside? Not really. They do take wedding parties and one while we were there was a little rowdy with rather a large number of old men deciding they would sit in the jaccuzzi and drink while their mates threw water at them from the next balcony. Not the end of the world but really they could sort it so each balcony can't look into the next apartment's bedroom. Just a design flaw and not corrected by the small wooden screen when someone stands right in the corner as our neighbour for one night wanted to do.

Overall a great place to stay and would be superb summer or winter. Not a sand fly in sight in March

Room Tip: Try not to have a lower room or one on the right hand side. 312 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjmacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant view across lake and 100m to town. What's not to like? If Weather is good, use pool or have a drink on your balcony, if not, try the spa. Modern apartments with cooking facilities, or just eat out. Expensive but nice. Great if travelling with children or as couple. We've stayed both ways.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melbournepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Not sure if you could find a better place to stay away from home. Were here on our honeymoon and got upgraded to a penthouse - how fabulous!! Gorgeous view and great location. Apartment had everything you needed and the whole complex feels very private. Can walk to all the restaurants and the amazing Cinema Paradiso. Was very sad to leave but looking forward to coming back! Don't hesitate to stay in this great accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, especially as I am sure there was lots to do at home after your honeymoon.

Lakeside Apartments with the fantastic views, spacious apartments and private balconies make an excellent place to stay for honeymooners. And the central location means just a few minutes walk to breakfast, lunch and dinner - so no cooking to be done.

We will be looking forward to your return whether it be autumn, winter, spring or summer - Wanaka is a town to visit in every season - each one bringing a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spacious apartment which gives me the cozy home feeling. I strongly agree with all the pros written in other reviews. View was spectacular as I woke up to a snow top mountain in the morning (was raining overnight). A garage parking allocated for guest. The only issue was the glaring hot sun before sunset, however sun block curtains did the job. Wanaka do have a lot of events all year round, therefore early booking is encourage. Value for $ and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Property: Lakeside Apartments
Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing