We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing lake views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Glasshouse Mountains, Queensland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing lake views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the 3 bedroom Penthouse apartment which was wonderful. Firstly the apartment was well furnished in all areas, bathroom, kitchen, lounge, dining, bedrooms, laundry. The balcony was huge with a spa, BBQ and outdoor furniture, all of which we used during our stay. Nothing beats sitting in the spa with a glass of wine looking out over Lake Wanaka! It's a little thing but I loved the floor heating. Staff were lovely and so very helpful. Location is fantastic, walking distance to shops and restaurants. My family have agreed that this is one place that we will never forget and hope to return real soon.

Room Tip: If you can spoil yourself get a penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kele-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback on your stay at Lakeside Apartments.

We have to agree with you, the Penthouse apartments, being on the top, fourth floor, have 360 degree views and unobstructed amazing lake and mountain views.

We always like to hear that our valuable staff have been helpful with guest stays, they pride themselves on excellent standards of cleaning and ensuring every guest has a truly memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
158
226
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent 4 days in waking up to a gorgeous memorable lake view from the patio. Spacious kitchen and living area and bedroom for two. We had a romantic time and we can't wait to go back perhaps during the ski season.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NancyVV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Perfect position in the centre of town with views up the lake.The spacious apartment was exceptionally well equipped and spotlessly clean. Good heating and lighting. Servicing of the apartment was daily. Can thoroughly recommend as THE place to stay in Wanaka

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madogvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

2 adults and 2 teenage sons from Oz. Met at reception by very friendly female staff (sorry can't remember her name but she's lovely - possibly owner/manager?). Were allowed to move into our level 3 apartment a little early (near midday) and what a fabulous apartment it was. Absolute lake views, very modern and soooooo clean and neat. Even the cutlery is lined up in the tray, it was amazing how good the room staff keep the apartment. Large comfy bed, and boys had room to themselves with beds each. can't fault the place it even offered BBQ's to cook your dinner by the pool (with olive oil waiting for you). Parking was a tight fit for us but not much of a challenge and you can lock the car away if you feel the need, although no real need as Wanaka felt safe and like a little seaside town = it really is a lovely place. Do yourself a favour and stay at the Lakeside Apartments (we had 306) it's truly fab.

Oh Asian gentleman next door had mighty loud voices, so not sure if it was a case of thin'ish walls or just inconsiderate loud people. Only a problem one night the rest was quiet so 100% recommend.

Room Tip: 306 was great - would suggest this level for views, level 2 for easier access to car park (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEGGSTER66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We travelled in September and it was still fresh and nippy. The view from the room is stunning so get a lake front room for sure. The rooms are self contained and there is a supermarket and bottle shop around the corner.
The staff are friendly and rooms very clean with everything you need but food. They are not cheap but I was surprised to see that you can heggle the price down, we got a discount of 15% from advertised price. Wanaka can get very full during the wings over Wanaka and during peak ski season.
Once again the views are the best in Wanaka and its an easy walk to everything in town.
Highly recommended for a beautiful experience of NZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My family has recently toured the whole of South Island recently and we must say that Lakeside Apartments has given us the best memories! In fact, we were all very excited when we entered the apartment. Extremely clean rooms with a well equipped kitchen and lovely lake view from the living room. What more can we ask for? Not forgetting great hospitality from the family who owns the place. Many thanks for making our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelawongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I agree with all the comments made by the other reviewers. These lakeside apartments are extremely well located with jaw dropping views of the lake and snow capped mountains beyond. Just walk across the road to all the bars and restaurants, and after a meal and a few glasses of fine pinot, walk back home. No drinking and driving. The free wifi is fast and reliable, the apartment is well appointed and the beds are comfy. The management is friendly and helpful. Then there are the little things that are appreciated; the ground coffee and plunger and complimentary cookies and the morning paper delivered to your door. This is a five star amenity at a very reasonable price. I have stayed at other apartments in Wanaka and most are pretty ordinary. We will stay at Lakeside every time we visit Wanaka. There really isn't anywhere else that compares.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Property: Lakeside Apartments
Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing