We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation in NZ !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our second time at Lakeside, it's just difficult to fault. Blair and Gary are excellent hosts, nothing is a problem. The accomodation itself is superb and immaculately presented - can't be faulted. Facilities are second to none and extremely well maintained. Even the location is perfect, everything is walking distance, view from the balcony over Lake Wanaka is stunning, there's always something to watch. We're already planning next years' visit !!!

Thanks again to Blair and Gary for making us feel so welcome. Well worth the 24 hour flight from the UK !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room price with no servicing, the guys are very flexible with pricing. Even though we took...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Many thanks for taking your time to review Lakeside Apartments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your comment on the no servicing – yes we are always happy to accommodate guests needs and although daily servicing is standard, not everyone wants this level of service so Gary and Blair are happy to be flexible.

We are pleased with your heading comment ‘Best accommodation in NZ’ – in the current 2013 Trip Advisor travellers reviews we were awarded second most luxurious hotel in New Zealand!

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lakeside Apartments when you next escape from the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 515 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

You have to see the size of the apartment to believe it! And so beautifully appointed I could move in permanently. The location is fabulous - with gorgeous views over the mountains and the lake and within walking distance to the lakefront, shops, cafes etc. When we arrived the very sweet receptionist first showed my husband where to park in the little garage each apartment has and then showed us to our apartment. She explained that each apartment is the same with three bedrooms and two bathrooms but as we were just a couple they lock the unneeded rooms leaving the master bedroom and en suite, the full size kitchen, dining area and lounge room for us as a couple to use.

This was on the pricey side but worth every cent. One of the very best places I have ever stayed in. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the Lakeside Apartments this November and were so comfortable, impressed and happy that we stayed longer than we'd planned. Beautiful swimming pool, views of the lake, very modern apartment with everything one could want or imagine. Front desk folks were so helpful and helped book a tour of Milford Sound with a great guide (only one other couple on the tour). We would stay here again any time possible!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything about this place is superlative: location, space, amenities and appliances, staff, cleanliness. Impeccable service and everything you could want to relax and enjoy your vacation. Besides the obvious quality that surrounds you, great attention has been given to the smallest details. Even if the weather doesn't cooperate (stayed 2 nights in November so it was a bit cold and rainy) you can spend your time inside free of stress, but when it does cooperate the views are spectacular (see some of the photos I uploaded)

I’d recommend Lakeside Apartments without hesitation, to anyone traveling through Wanaka. PS. I don't really like writing reviews but I felt compelled from the moment I opened the door to the room!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are especially privileged to have your review as you ‘don't really like writing reviews’. And a special thanks for those wonderful images – obviously a passion of yours.

We are always pleased to have confirmation from guests that we are performing well and living up to our reputation as Wanaka’s number one hotel on Trip Advisor. The apartments do work no matter what the weather. Although Wanaka enjoys a wonderfully sunny climate we do have some days when indoors is a better place to be – this is not an issue at Lakeside with spacious units and the added bonus of 50 inch TV screens and 50+ Sky channels.

The majority of time though, you can sit in the sunshine on the balcony and admire those spectacular lake and mountain views.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to welcome you back to Wanaka and Lakeside Apartments in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed four nights at Lakeside and wish we could have stayed longer. We had a premier apartment and I was very impressed at the level of cleanliness and quality of fittings etc. The view of the lake was spectacular and the location was excellent - no need to get the car out as it was a three minute walk to the Main Street of restaurants/cafe's etc. It's also directly across the road from the kids playground on the lake which was excellent for our 6 yr old boy. The staff were very friendly - we are already planning a return trip and will definitely stay at the Lakeside again.

Room Tip: If you want extra balcony space, book a premier apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytrvller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

You can't beat this place in Wanaka with fantastic rooms and unbelievable scenery of the lake and surrounding mountains. The folks running the place are very welcoming and friendly and did their best to make sure we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigThisVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at these apartments for Christmas, we organised a family Christmas in Wanaka, the apartments are clean, spacious, modern, they have all the comforts of home. The views from the apartments are just breathtaking. The pool, spa area is immaculate and a pleasure to relax in. The location of these apartments is perfect, the car is not required, you can walk to everything. The Managers of the complex and all the staff were helpful, friendly, efficient, nothing was too much bother. The price of the apartments is on the higher side but worth every cent. Well done Lakeside Apartments, you are doing a great thing. Keep it up. Thanks for making our holiday fantastic.

Room Tip: All equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneeky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $244 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing