We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Wanaka, idealy located for village and lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

You even get your own garage to put your car in! We had a Superior Apartment on the ground floor which was huge and pristine with all mod cons and two bathrooms, one of which had a spa bath. The whole complex is immaculate and being on the ground floor we benefitted from the pool and hot tubs being right outside our balcony area as well as still having a fantastic view across the lake. Everything was easy, from booking on the internet to checking in and paying when we checked out. I cannot fault anything about the place or the service received during our stay.

Lakeside Apartments is perfectly positioned almost lakeside and right by Wanaka village center. We were there for the skiing which is only a 10 minute drive to Cardrona and 15 minutes to New Zealands largest skiiable terrain at Trebble Cone. Eating out, we fancied a pizza and were pointed to 'the Cow' by a local, it did not disappoint. Breakfast was so good at the 'Cheeky Monkey' that we went back for more the next morning. Our 2nd evening (of 2) we ate at the 'Wanaka Ale House' which wasn't bad.

If you have never been on a jet boat before I can recommend this hour and a half trip bookable at the information place on the lake shore (NZD100 per person) - Very exhilarating being blasted over rapids at about 90 km/h) and experiencing various break neck maneuvers not to mention the awesome scenery of Lake Wanaka surrounded by snow capped mountains.

Room Tip: If you want easy access to the pool and hot tubs go for a ground floor room. - These still have grea...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItIsWotItIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Lakeside Apartments. You obviously had a great stay and enjoyed the variation that Wanaka offers – from fun on the nearby ski-fields to exhilaration on the pristine waters of Lake Wanaka.

Here at Lakeside Apartments, we do pride ourselves on the excellent customer service combined with very high standard of housekeeping and a five star accommodation complex - so it is always great to see guests letting us know we are maintaining our standards.

The spring snow is still fantastic thanks to the September storms we have had and with the longer days warming up and the sun shining – all perfect for a holiday.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Wanaka and Lakeside Apartments soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 513 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just left Lakeside after 4 fantastic nights in Wanaka and we cannot speak highly enough of the standard of apartment and the service we received. Who would have thought Wanaka would have apartments to rival anywhere we have stayed. The view was nothing short of spectacular and the appointments covered everything we could possibly want for a great skiing holiday. Gary was absolutely fantastic in helping us out and suggesting great restaurants and activities. The apartments perfectly clean with nice fluffy white towels. We will rave about this place to all our friends for a long time to come. A few other tips from our stay in Wanaka:
1. We had a beautiful meal at The Landing, right next door to Lakeside;
2. The 1 hour Mt Aspiring & Glacier helicopter trip with Mt Aspiring Helicopters was worth every cent - very special memories
Thanks to Gary for organising both of these.

The website photos do not do the place justice.

We will definitely return!
The Small Family

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very pleased with this accommodation. Modern, spacious, clean and well appointed apartment. Service was very friendly and helpful. Great location. Enjoyed the warm outdoor spa which soothed sore muscles after days of skiing. The views were breathtaking. Would definitely choose Lakeside Wanaka again, and highly recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 201 and 301 are on the north west corner of the property and provide the best views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oggies543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Perfect location with breath taking view, well appointed and modern, very spacious and great to accommodate lots of ski gear which we could wash, dry and store easily. All cooking facilities available but only 1-10 minutes walk from a range of good restaurants. Easy to spend the day indoors if the weather was inclement. Gary, the manager, was a very friendly and helpful.
Carr Family

Room Tip: Levels 2 and 3 have very good views
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Guest Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your family break at Lakeside Apartments.

We have to agree with you that Lakeside Apartments is the perfect location – in fact the perfect place to stay. We have been fortunate to have a few September storms come through (and often in the dark hours) which have given rise to ample snow on the ski-fields, late in the season. This makes for a perfect family holiday and some great spring skiing. Hopefully, there were not too many ‘indoor’ days for your holiday. Mind you, as you say, these apartments make an ‘indoor’ day very easy – probably due to the luxury and the ‘home away from home’ feel.

Yes, we agree, level 2 and 3 do have very good views. Of course, the Penthouse Apartments on Level 4 have the best views of all. However, the Superior Poolside Apartments on Level 1 provide easy access to the pool and still command fantastic views of the lake and mountains. Being at the lower end of the price range the Superior Poolside Apartments are more accessible, pricewise.

Thanks again for your feedback and we trust you had a safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After a long drive from Christchurch we just wanted a warm, clean place to relax with a glass of red we got this and much more. At check-in the owner asked why we had travelled to the area, we explained that we were married 2 days before and needed to relax! This wonderful man (sorry can't remember his name) upgraded us to the penthouse. This room was fantastic with great views, private spa bath and everything else you could want or need.

I would 100% recommend these apartments and look forward to a return trip - maybe in the summer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Lakeside Apartments whilst on your Honeymoon.

We are so pleased your enjoyed your upgrade – we do like to offer an upgrade if we can and in your case, Gary (the person in question) considered you would enjoy such a treat, whilst on your honeymoon. The Penthouse Apartments – with their spectacularly huge deck – command such excellent all round views of the lake and mountains. And what better way to view that scenery, than the six-person spa pool and a glass of red in your hand.

We enjoy accommodating couples on their honeymoon, as well as wedding guests, so once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I recently stayed at Lakeside Apartments with my wife, and wow.

Right beside town, the rooms are warm, clean, spacious and really well presented, and the staff were really friendly.

There was absolutely no stinginess with commodities like the clothes detergent, dish-washing soap.

The kitchen is fully appointed with all the utensils, good quality pots and pans, baking dishes and so on, and you'll have none of the usual issues with dodgy cook ware.

There was even a ski report on auto-dial.

We had a great time, and were very sorry to rotate back to real life.

We had the corner room with wrap around balcony and from there you get 180 degree views over the most amazing lake.

The views onto the mountains and lake were spectacular enough on their own to recommend, but the whole complex is fantastic and I strongly recommend it, for a do nothing or a do everything holiday in Wanaka, Lakeside Apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Lakeside Apartments for 4 nights following the recommendation of friends in August 2012. It was superb! The rooms were well designed and perfectly suited for families with separate bedrooms away from the main living area. Everything you would need to create meals with was provided and the reception was brilliant in providing anything extra you required. So close to the town and with stunning views across the lake. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeensG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
791 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $246 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing