We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We recently stayed in a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom penthouse for 3 nights. The property was ideal for 3 couples, perfect location, 1st class amenities including the pool and common areas. The owner was always available and clearly knows how to offer hospitality and what it involves including local knowledge. Suggestions of the best coffee shops and restaurants were spot on.
We travelled around the South Island for 13 days and Wanaka was our favourite place made much more memorable because of our stay at Lakeside Apartments. We certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Sorry can't help - we just loved the 4th level penthouse with stunning view but I would stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 522 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

Wanaka was the last stop of our week-long trip, so we were relatively tired when we arrived. As we were checking in, we were told by the reception that because they were very busy and that they were fully booked, they have upgraded our apartment from a 2-bedroom one to a penthouse, free of charge. Needless to say that we were all very pleasantly surprised. The staff showed us to our apartment, and it was absolutely stunning. Although it was a free upgrade from a much cheaper apartment, we had all the luxuries of the penthouse: wireless and wired broadband, a magnificent balcony with a stunning view over the lake, a spa pool, etc. There are also a swimming pool and two barbecues for all the guests to freely use. Not only was the room itself beautiful, the room cleaning was incredible. We happened to still be in the apartment when the staff came around to clean, and it took them about 10-15 minutes from start to finish, leaving our room perfectly tidy again. The location was fantastic too, overlooking the lake, as well as being conveniently close to shops, restaurants, the supermarket and the rest. Overall, the experience was simply overwhelming and fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petemacpherson, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Thank you for your feedback of the accommodation at Lakeside Apartments, which obviously was a winner in the last few days of your holiday.

Thank you also for acknowledging the great work of our housekeeping staff. We pride ourselves on our great staff; most of whom have been with us for many years. They do a fantastic job at keeping up the high standard of cleanliness we require here at Lakeside Apartments, as well as looking after our guests.

Not everyone is lucky enough to receive a free upgrade to a Penthouse Apartment but you were obviously pleased with yours and aren’t the extensive balconies just amazing in those apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment with a lakeside view for 4 adults. On arriving we found the town filled to capacity due to a Triathalon but we had been upgraded to a higher floor that gave us better views!! Great location - with stunning views of Lake Wanaka and minutes from the shops and a convenient supermarket. Very helpful front desk. Though we didn't have time to use it, the pool, spa and BBQ area looked great - very clean and well cared for.
The rooms were comfortable and for us the highlight was the huge balcony where we spent most of our time and which overlooked the lake.
Very well provided kitchen facilites which we used to dish up our takeaway meal - eaten on the deck.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Also corner suites have a wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was our perfect holiday!! Lakeside Apartments are absolutely fantastic, so spacious, impeccably clean, and the view and location are to die for. Eating dinner on the balcony every night in the late sun and overlooking the lake meant we didn't want to eat in restaurants. Easy walk to shops, cafes and supermarket and the swimming pool and spas are lovely. Great for kids too, we spent most afternoons relaxing round the pool. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and we meet some great people staying there too. We will definitely go back. Thank you for a terrific holiday!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petemacpherson, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lakeside Apartments and you obviously enjoyed your stay.

The pool has certainly been very popular this summer even though the lake is just a stone’s throw away. The full kitchen allows you to cook every meal with little inconvenience and the inclusion of a full fridge/freezer and dishwasher just makes the catering experience more like a holiday than a chore.

And we always like to have repeat guests so we look forward to your stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Wanaka is a lovely town with magnificent scenery and lots of activities on offer. We would love to have spent more time in Wanaka.

There are a lot of excellent cafes and restaurants for a town of its size.

The apartment was nice and well-equipped with everything we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787keentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petemacpherson, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Lakeside Apartments.

We are always trying to improve the service we offer to our guests. For this reason, we would like to ascertain why the quality of your stay was not what we expect from Lakeside Apartments.

All your ratings are below the standards we like to maintain, and are lower than the many ratings we have received from other guests. I would be most grateful if you were able to find just a couple of minutes to email us with your apartment number and stay dates, so we can ascertain why our standards had dropped during your stay, and to make sure we provide the highest level of service for our future guests.

I have posted this management response in the hope that we hear from you, as we have had no response from the private message we sent you.

Thank you, in advance, for your assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Lakeside Apartments are the perfect choice for your stay in Wanaka. They are spotlessly clean, well maintained and equipped. The views are exceptional, capturing the beauty of the lake and mountains. The penthouses are very well designed for spaciousness and have the added bonus of a hot tub on the enormous terrace. All staff are exceptionally friendly ,going out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Being located on the doorstep of the town makes walking to the great Cafes, restaurants etc... a breeze. Honestly these apartments are impossible to fault. As a repeat patron I can recommend that your choice to stay will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somervillesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Loved our stay here and will definitely be returning. Best apartments we have stayed in and great location - close to shops, restaurants, cinemas, parks and lake. Right in town but still has the quiet feel of a more out of town location. Great management and service - thanks Blair! Apartments are spotlessly clean, very comfortable, spacious and ultra modern in facilities. We stayed in room 101 and could not fault it's presentation on arrival. We highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments open onto the pool and spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenstownGroupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petemacpherson, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Thank you for your review, we always like to hear from guests who have had the Lakeside experience.

Yes the ground floor apartments allow direct access to the pool – perfect for the family to be entertained this long hot summer. The upper floors have balconies which cater for those wanting a little privacy.

We are pleased you enjoyed the ultra modern facilities. We have just upgraded our apartments with 50 inch plasma TVs in the lounge, allowing us to move the slightly smaller plasma screens into the master bedrooms. Oh how technology moves so fast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
819 reviews
0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $234 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing