We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and interior decor”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and interior decor”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

friendly staff, enjoyable bar nibbles (free!) Good selection of drinks, nice atmosphere with welcoming fire.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maryrose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. The fire is definitely a popular spot to try and nab when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    341
    87
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy and ok food”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really busy and not enough availability but food was pretty good and service good too. Average all round, but good for a satisfying meal ... Once you get your food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EP222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback. Our kitchen staff take an incredible amount of pride in the food that leaves the kitchen. As do our wait staff who deliver it to your table as quickly as possible. Wanaka is extremely busy at this time of the year - as you can imagine with having 3 ski fields on our back door step. We very work hard to ensure everyone has a favorable dining experience. Enjoy the rest of your time in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best wedges!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just had a lunch time snack - a refreshing glass of draught cider and some very yummy wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce - really delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Delicious wedges certainly hit the spot for a lunch snack especially at this time of year....Thank you for that feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were given discount voucher from the motel. Food was very good and filling. very good view of lake from restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chanchristine251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your meal at the Wanaka Speights Ale House and we agree - the view from inside and outside of Lake Wanaka is quite beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great on a summers day”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

While on holiday down here, my partner and I stopped in for a late lunch. The staff were friendly and the décor is amazing. While waiting for our food I went for a quick walk outside, the view of the creek is so pretty! The food was great, my partner ordered the steak and I had the seafood chowder. Both were good and we ate every bite! Better than some of the Speights Ale Houses in Christchurch! Will visit again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cflutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The Bullock Creek is a very pretty area - and enjoyment is had by children and adults alike around that area. We do hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing