We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal in a perfect setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speights Ale House Wanaka

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great meal in a perfect setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

What could be better than a beer, a meal and a fabulous view? The Speight's Ale House is on Wanaka's main street and looks straight out over the lake. We went on a Friday evening for a drink and meal. We had two kids - one a teenager, the other age 10. The meals suited everyone and our youngest ordered from the fairly standard kids menu. The beer selection - as you'd expect with Speights - was extensive and it was fun browsing through deciding what to order. They also offer a tasting "plate" so you can try a selection of beers.
The service was prompt and friendly and the meals were good. I had chicken filo parcels which were really good - crisp not soggy as sometimes happens with filo. My husband had a smoked salmon salad and said it was pretty good. The teenager had the fish and chips - thick cut chips which went down well.
Overall a great meal, and we enjoyed the location as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwipippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to feedback on your recent dining experience at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. It is great to hear that your entire family were happy with everything and that you enjoyed the beautiful views. We hope when you are back in Wanaka you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    312
    76
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenorchy, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Speights Wanaka does it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

When we go to Wanaka we always dine in The Ale House for obvious reasons. Being in the hospitality business you get to know good food, great atmosphere and friendly staff and service that is tops even in the rush hour which most places cant plan for. Would really recommend this place as the menu has something for everyone and of course its not always about the bloody food! What about the great range of beer and wine especially the Huntaway Chard which goes down with ease!
Would definitley recommend a visit to this establishment even if its just to talk about the cricket. Cheers and thankyou.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TBMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on the Wanaka Speights Ale House. Its fantastic to have people who appreciate the varied menu and the many beers and wines we have available but also the staff that make the place tick. We are glad you enjoy dining at ours when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
478 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Not your average ale house....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a newer establishment across the street from the lake. The soup and daily special were served quickly and both were tasty. Enjoyed the Winter Olympics playing on the TVs and the attentive wait staff. Nice clean bathrooms!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Takarehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. Its great to hear you enjoyed sitting and watching some of the Winter Olympics over meals that you found to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I came here with some friends on two occasions, both times I had the ribeye steak. The steak was cooked to perfection and the service was great. The manager also came around for a chat which was much appreciated. i almost forgot great coffee and beer.

Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Its always great to have your steak cooked just the way you want it so we were really pleased with your thoughts on your steak. "Southern Charm" is what we strive for at the Wanaka Speights Ale House and all the staff take a genuine interest in all customers who walk through our doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We got hooked on this place. Great service, warm and bustling atmosphere and terrific food. Not your average pub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we are glad you found everything to your liking from the food all the way through to the service. This compliment has been passed on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing