We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hearty pub style food!”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hearty pub style food!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate at the Speights Ale house last night (early august) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The restaurant has a nice, warm and pub/ale house atmosphere and although they don't take bookings and were fairly busy, a table was cleared and we were seated very quickly.

The beer is great with a decent size selection and suggestions are given as to which beer to drink with each meal.

I ordered the lamb shanks. They were amazing. Very large and the meat literally just fell of the bone. I was more than content at the end of this meal. A great choice on a cold winter night.

The service wasn't incredible but it wasn't bad either. The meals were a little slow to come out, however apologies were given, which was appreciated.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback on your evening at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. We are pleased to hear that you were seated promptly and that your meals were very much to your liking - the kitchen staff have been working extremely hard over the winter season as The Wanaka Speights Ale House has been extremely busy! We have taken on board your comments in regards to service. Rest assured our staff do their utmost best to deliver quality customer service. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    330
    84
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tired after travelling and working”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I was feeling a bit stuffed after an early start from home and a good days work and getting seated set me into relax mode: not a bad thing. When I go to Speights AH's I often go for the Blue&Gold - blue cod which is always good. Went for one of the chicken dishes tonight - no complaints.
This is worth a look.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitsiraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent dining experience at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. We are glad you were able to relax and unwind after a long days work and travel! we hope you will dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food is probably the best value in Wanaka, but the atmosphere is fantastic. A lovely big fire, stone walls, and good music. And of course a great selection of Otago's best beer. As with all small towns in NZ Wanaka goes to bed early, so dinner is about 5pm-8pm at the latest. Get in early or go hungry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canada-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your dining experience at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. The wide selection of Speights is of particular delight to a lot of our customers especially when matched with particular meals - which our great staff can certainly help with. The interior is a great conversation piece for everyone walking through the door especially when people see the "rabbit" tucked in amongst the gorse. Did you catch a glimpse of that? If not - you could leave that for your next visit to beautiful Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average family meal”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The lovely interior had my expectations high. I had the steak sandwich which was disappointingly small, and rather average. The Pisa platter was just a collection of deep fried snacks. It was all quite edible, but a little average for the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emargee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your dining experience at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. The interior certainly piques everyone's interest and curiosity. We have taken your comments in regards to the Open Steak Sandwhich and Pisa Platter on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great relaxing time”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal, early evening, before it got really busy. Kids had a great time playing outside by the creek hiding in the flower beds! If you're nervous though about your kids playing near water this is not the place for you!
Has quite a few GF food options but trickier to meet other dietary needs. Staff were very accommodating though, so, don't be afraid to ask.
Lots of locals there which says something!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your evening meal at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. We endeavor to cater for most dietary requirements with various options of Gluten Free and Vegetarian meals available. It is nearly impossible to cater for every dietary requirement however - and rest assured we do do our utmost to make everyone's dining experience great. The creek is certainly a draw card for adults and children alike - especially in summer - but you are correct - it does require a parental eye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing