We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makarora Country Cafe

Makarora Country Cafe
Ranked #55 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 819 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The intercity bus stopped here for a rest room break and the coffee was okay but the food was overpriced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    21
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mortgage you're house to eat here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Food here is very average and extremely over priced. The toasted sandwichs were $8 for 2 slices of bread and a slice of cheese, a piece of fish was 7.50 and it was just out of the box fish. These guys prices are over inflated as the have a.number of tour buses stop here. I feel sorry for any tourist buying lunch here as it's not a.true reflection of the amazing food and cost of food we have.at other great cafes in nz.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwibex88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only place in NZ where I have had bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stopped here with the intercity bus and they were very busy which I understood. I was going to buy a cup of tea but first wanted something to eat so sat down with my lunch. I would like to point out that I did look around to see if there was a sign about hving your own food (as every other place I had stopped at had these), but there was none. There were a lot of tables free and I would have certainly been finished by the time the rush got their food. Anyway, I was TOLD to get out because he had 2 busloads arriving and I couldn't eat my own food so should sit outside. I really did not mind doing this, it was the manner in which I was spoken to! A polite request and a please and thank you would have been enough! I thought the guy that spoke to us was rude and had no respect. Certainly one of those who have the "they are just a backpacker' opinion! Really irritates me. Needless to say, I did not spend any money on a cup of tea or any other goodies for the bus and I was too worried to use the toilet in case I got thrown out of there too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingteacher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“History, Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Basic food. Location excellent. Interesting history. Food quite expensive, but I guess you're paying for fact that this cafe is out of the way. Watching an episode of MKR may help.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank osmosishol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“License Plates & Mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

At this stop on our bus, we got only quick snacks ... these were fine. But we really enjoyed the license plate collection nailed around the walls and ceiling beams. Most were from the USA, and many states were represented. If you are heading toward Wanaka and happen to have an extra old plate you don't need, the owners of the Cafe & Bar would delightedly accept your gift and add it to their entertaining collection. And the labels on the toilets are clever ... wonder if foreign tourists are confused?

After our snack, we enjoyed walking around the building to see (and photograph) the wonderfully scenic mountains on all sides.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makarora Country Cafe also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Makarora Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing