We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bistro Gentil

Bistro Gentil
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in a beautiful garden setting infused with artwork from world renowned artists, overlooking the lake and mountains of Wanaka, Bistro Gentil serves wonderful modern French cuisine using only the best seasonal produce from Central Otago and it's kitchen garden. Being the first South Island restaurant to house an Enomatic wine-dispenser system, diners can enjoy a range of fine wines by either the glass, half glass or taster. With indoor and outdoor seating, we are open for à la carte dining Tuesday to Saturday evenings. A seven course degustation menu is also available on Friday and Saturday. You are welcome to try our complimentary samples of olive oils and pure fruit balsamic vinegars. Bistro Gentil was recommended in the 2014 Cuisine Good Food Guide.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

A lovely warm environment with innovative self-service wine system. The main courses were lovely works of art, very tender and tasty lamb. Efficient and friendly service, restaurant busy although a Weds night. Fairly pricey so reserve for a special night out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishie x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Fishie x, thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    68
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

From the moment you walk into Bistro Gentil you are treated exceptionally well. The Manager, Kenny, looked after us very well giving a table right in front of the fire, which on a cold, wet, windy day was greatly appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed the three course lunch consisting of beef cooked in a sous bath for 48 hours , rib eye and tiramisu. The dehydrated cappuccino foam on the Tiramisu was superb. The idea of being able to try samples of over 24 wines rally made the meal for us though. So many choices all at very affordable prices. The only thing we could say was missing was a little more vegies but other than that the entire meal was brilliant. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks a million for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in New Zealand!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We came to Bistro Gentil for our wedding night dinner on the recommendation of the Suite51 owners (fantastic local bed and breakfast). We were not disappointed! The staff was extremely attentive, the service was exceptional, the restaurant was beautiful, the food was amazing, and the drink selection was impressive. They helped us celebrate our big day and we could not have asked for a better experience. Highly recommend if in Wanaka!

(For those wondering, we had the risotto, which was phenomenal!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rocke031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for celebrating with us and for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best Wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely recommendable !!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Bistro Gentil is definitely my #1 restaurant in Wanaka !
The Menu is well thought through and offers something for anybody's taste.
Although I wouldn't classify it as a true French restaurant, it hasn't failed to match the high standard of this exquisite cuisine.
I've had the rib eye and the fish and both were beautifully presented and the taste was just delicious.
The service is outstanding without being pretentious, like in some restaurants in Europe of this kind.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank katweje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Katweje, thank you for fantastic review and well informed comments. Our kitchen uses French techniques and revisits typical flavour combinations with creative, modern touches. The menus change to make the best of in-season produce from both our kitchen garden and our region. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and very much appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good, but don't order the 300g beef rib eye”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

As a regular, this is one of the best restaurants in town. The food is always excellent. However, having ordered the beef rib eye I was unable to eat it as it was so tough. On pointing this out to one of the waiters he replied that "They were changing their supplier and given the cut I should expect that I should not be able to cut through some parts of the meat."
Not what I expected! This time they got it wrong. The waiter was not surprised yet offered no redress. 2 stars only.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DJB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear DJB98, We would always offer to replace a dish that didn't meet our usual standards but would suggest alerting us to any issue before finishing it. In this instance, it made it tricky for our waiter to redress the situation. We are of course disappointed that your chose to give us a poor score after having had many excellent meals.... Hopefully your next review will match your usually high satisfaction levels. A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Gentil also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Bistro Gentil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing