We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food and service”
Review of Bistro Gentil

Bistro Gentil
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in a beautiful garden setting infused with artwork from world renowned artists, overlooking the lake and mountains of Wanaka, Bistro Gentil serves wonderful modern French cuisine using only the best seasonal produce from Central Otago and it's kitchen garden. Being the first South Island restaurant to house an Enomatic wine-dispenser system, diners can enjoy a range of fine wines by either the glass, half glass or taster. With indoor and outdoor seating, we are open for à la carte dining Tuesday to Saturday evenings. A seven course degustation menu is also available on Friday and Saturday. You are welcome to try our complimentary samples of olive oils and pure fruit balsamic vinegars. Bistro Gentil was recommended in the 2014 Cuisine Good Food Guide.
Hope, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fine food and service”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Interesting setting, with outdoors sculpture. Menu selection was very good including locally supplied foods. Our party of six all enjoyed the wine sampling service offering three size pours from a taste to a glass, all made simple by the insertion of a charge card. I found the service friendly and efficient, with good guidance on the menu. No question, I would return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    68
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This should be number one in Wanaka”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Our meal was superb. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Will and Rhianna. We even received a complimentary glass of champagne for our anniversary. Wish we could visit again but long way from England.

The wine sampling idea was also great.

But why is a wine bar that doesnt serve food No 1 in Wanaka?
Margaret and Ken

Helpful?
2 Thank Susieban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic food and service”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

been here many times now and it always impresses me everytime!! the staff are very professional and very helpful with the menu choices. good wine knowledge too and awesome settting by the golfcourse. these chefs are very creative and you can tell they take great pride in there job. welldone again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank doonhamer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gentil, et fabuleux!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Don't know how much gold is found in Wanaka in Central Otago but we ate at this 'bistro' which is a veritable nugget!
The food was original, and oh so beautifully prepared and presented with lots of flavour and nuance. We could help ourselves to 3 different sizes of wine pours from a sophisticated display of 40 or so wines from New Zealand and France with the use of a card which recorded what we chose. There is also a well-chosen wine list where you can buy a bottle if you prefer. We loved the opportunity to be able to sample different wines and attempt to pair them with our food choices. Gluten-free choices are now an issue for us and most everything was available in gluten-free form with no fuss made. What a relief that is! There is also a variety of olive oils - a special treat from olive groves in France.
The restaurant itself is beautifully located with a view to the lake, excellent art - sculptures and paintings. We sat in an area that isn't quite outside but feels like it. All in all, it was a tremendously enjoyable evening although we are still trying to get used to New Zealand prices. This would be on the high end of experiences but worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iwantotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wanaka Best by Far”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Superb dinner , fantastic hosts and the best restaurant in Wanaka by far
A gem in Central Otago, the Cardrona lamb was amazing - excellent wine list
Will definately return

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuffyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Gentil also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Bistro Gentil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing