We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it so much we ate there two nights in a row”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Gentil

Bistro Gentil
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in a beautiful garden setting infused with artwork from world renowned artists, overlooking the lake and mountains of Wanaka, Bistro Gentil serves wonderful modern French cuisine using only the best seasonal produce from Central Otago and it's kitchen garden. Being the first South Island restaurant to house an Enomatic wine-dispenser system, diners can enjoy a range of fine wines by either the glass, half glass or taster. With indoor and outdoor seating, we are open for à la carte dining Tuesday to Saturday evenings. A seven course degustation menu is also available on Friday and Saturday. You are welcome to try our complimentary samples of olive oils and pure fruit balsamic vinegars. Bistro Gentil was recommended in the 2014 Cuisine Good Food Guide.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We loved it so much we ate there two nights in a row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is clearly the number one restaurant in the area. We loved it so much we ate there both nights in Wanaka. Had sensational lamb rump dish, monk fish, chicken souvi, gazpacho, steak tartare, rice pudding. All were terrific and wait staff is pleasant, quick and knowledgeable.bbwonderful wine system as well

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liketotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    67
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tough to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing meal last night at Bistro Gentil. Ordered the Steak Tartare as an entree, it was the chefs take on a Big Mac (more refined of course). It was absolutely delicious! Followed it up with a melt in your mouth ribeye! The staff were very attentive, and offered us a free drink for the delay on our entree (we hadn't noticed as we were enjoying the nice scenery on a beautiful summers night), which was a nice touch. Everyone else thoroughly enjoyed their mains and starters. Will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jjtimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a marvelous dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had dinner here on my last rip to Wanaka. The food was excellent from the steak tartare where they had managed to have an egg yoke which appeared to be cooked but which broke and mixed in with the steak as if it were raw. I had the fish dish of the day which again was an excellently cooked dish, We finished with a cheese board which was exceptional having two really ripe and pungent camenbert cheeses and a really fabulous blue. The food and service in my opnion are the best in Wanaka at the moment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 13out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Grand dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Fantastic restaurant. Surprised that it's only ranked #10 on TA. We absolutely loved it! It is a bit more expensive than the other restaurants in Wanaka, but the food is worth it.
They have a selection of wines open which you can taste and are able to get whenever you fancy a new glass. We liked this concept, although we didn't like all the wines ;-)
We were seated on the front area with nice views of the mountains and the lake and enjoyed the sunset from our table. Great restaurant.

The waitress was professional, but on the night we were there she was the only one serving, operating the bar and cleaning the tables, At times it was difficult to get her attention because she kept running around. Perhaps a second waiter would be a good option?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the Queenstown Lakes District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

French style cuisine, beautifully presented with great, fresh favours. We've been there twice for dinner and once for lunch and enjoyed it so much we kept going back there. I think it is the best restaurant in Wanaka with very high quality food. I really like their wine tasting by-the-glass set up. It's unique in Wanaka. I'd like to see them expand it with more Central Otago wines available in tasting size quantities. We will be going back there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kentdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Gentil also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Bistro Gentil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing