We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting and atmosphere”
Review of Bistro Gentil

Bistro Gentil
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in a beautiful garden setting infused with artwork from world renowned artists, overlooking the lake and mountains of Wanaka, Bistro Gentil serves wonderful modern French cuisine using only the best seasonal produce from Central Otago and it's kitchen garden. Being the first South Island restaurant to house an Enomatic wine-dispenser system, diners can enjoy a range of fine wines by either the glass, half glass or taster. With indoor and outdoor seating, we are open for à la carte dining Tuesday to Saturday evenings. A seven course degustation menu is also available on Friday and Saturday. You are welcome to try our complimentary samples of olive oils and pure fruit balsamic vinegars. Bistro Gentil was recommended in the 2014 Cuisine Good Food Guide.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great setting and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed lunch on Sunday. It was my husband's first visit but I had been before so I knew that the portions would be quite small and I encouraged him to order the $19 size of the quiche rather than the $14 one. I am glad I did because the small size would have been a mere sliver. Having said that, we understand that ideally you order several dishes to share. The serving of prawns we shared was more than enough though and my vegetarian cassoulet was beautifully cooked and presented. We definitely had room left for dessert which is not to be missed! Overall a great dining experience and Bistro Gentil is a must when in Wanaka.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    67
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Almost”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A beautiful setting with fab sculptures in the garden. Started on the sofa under the heat lamps with some bubbles, then moved to a table for dinner. Service and setting were great. The food was a bit disappointing though...tiny, tiny serving for the starter (for not a tiny price), then a strange cut of beef for the main....it looked like a generous portion, but then I soon realized it was a lot of bone & other non-meaty bits. Sides were simple and good. Dessert was good. The tastes were all pretty good, but I hate it when I have to eat the bread to leave with a full tummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi McinAuckland, we are delighted you appreciated the art, setting and flavours of our food at BG. Our Foie gras and white truffle parfait which is the item we think you are referring to will never be the cheapest item on the menu. Our mark-up on this entree is actually very low due to the cost of these exceptional ingredients but our chef relishes the opportunity to work with them. We were sorry to hear you were still hungry after having our 500g Angus ribeye… Since it is a first, our suggestion would be to ask for a top up of the seasonal sides next time? We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to Wanaka”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

There have been a number of restaurants on this site, but the latest incarnation - Bistro Gentil - is a welcome addition to Wanaka. Great food, good service and a selection of 18? wines available by the taste, half glass, or full glass in dispensers that you can help yourself. This enables you to try different wines before committing to one, and means you can easily change between courses.

The wine dispensers are a nice touch, but the food, ambience and service are what make this worth a visit for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Prefered lunch to dinner”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ive been here for lunch and dinner and definatly prefered the lunch. For on you can see the spectacular view in the daytime, but i also liked the more relaxed menu. Dinner was good, the steak was amazing and seasonal veggies good. Id love it if they put escargot on the menu- my fav French dish!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolAsneddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had heard great reports of the unique dining experience at Bistro Gentil, we were not disappointed it was excellent, the food was superbly cooked and presented, the service was outstanding, the atmosphere warm and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed choosing our own wines from the selection of wines displayed on one whole wall of the restaurant, We could select wine you are not usually able to buy by the glass at a very reasonable price. A super night out fine dining. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverviewLodgeBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Gentil also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Bistro Gentil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing