We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian”

Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka
Ranked #8 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've eaten at Francesca'sa few times now and have always enjoyed it. The food is great with a varied selection and pizzas that look delicious (I haven't tried one yet, so can't comment). The staff is the right combination of laid-back and professional that suits a town like Wanaka.

1  Thank Toadguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your glowing comments regarding both our food and staff. In true Italian style, we aim to provide a welcoming environment with delicious authentic food and we are glad you enjoyed your recent meal with us. Grazie Mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is tucked behind the Speights Ale House and its recommended to make a booking as it is very busy. We started with the Brushetta topped with Egg Plant and that was truly delicious. My wife enjoyed her Bolognese and I ordered the Prawn Paccheri. Now I know that one is supposed to have pasta that is al dente but for my pallet and i suspect for others as well, having thick pasta that is firm makes it very heavy. So if i went back again i would ask for the pasta to be cooked a bit longer especially if it is thick.
Half a litre of house red came out at $25. Nice place and worth considering. One of the better places in Wanaka

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Andrew, thanks so much for your compliments on your recent meal at Francesca's. As a restaurant that aims to be as authentic as possible, we generally serve our pasta al dente but of course we would be more than happy to make the dish to your liking on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Grazie Mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped at Francesca's for lunch today. This is the best meal we have had in the Wanaka area. My prawn pasta was excellent and the other two recommended their pizzas as being very good. They do a very nice Negroni too! We will definitely return on our next visit to Wanaka.

Thank Zetlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Negroni and prawn paccheri - two of our absolute favourites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent lunch at Francesca's. With such an array of fantastic restaurants in Wanaka we are extremely flattered and we cant wait to have you dine with us again soon. Grazie Mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yum! Authentic and delicious. We made a late booking but the restaurant graciously made room for us. All of us had different dishes, risotto, ragu, beef cheek gnocchi - wow, it was all sooo good. We would definitely go back next time we are in Wanaka

Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your amazing comments. We are over the moon that you had such a great experience during your recent visit to Francesca's. See you soon. Grazie Mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Delicious food, great service and the ambiance is great for families and couples alike. We came with our two tween boys, they raved about the spag bol...best they had ever eaten in fact. We went back two days in a row to try as much of the menu as possible. But the service here was really the best bit. Will say, they were not good at getting back to us after leaving a few messages...so just go and book in person.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi Emma, thank you fir such a fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed both your visits to Francesca's. We pride ourselves on our delicious food and friendly service and we are so glad that you received the full package on your recent visit. We apologise that you struggled to get hold of us on the phone, during busy service times it can be tricky to get to the phone every time, but as you say, please come by and book or alternatively you can visit our website and book online.
We hope to see you soon for more helping of bolognese! Grazie Mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing