We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian”

Francesca's Kitchen
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Good but not fantastic pizza and risotto. Good atmosphere and service in pleasant surroundings

Attempt to make Negroni cocktails failed dismally - was pink in colour and weak. Considering the cost for a Negroni expected better.

Thank Gwen818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your feedback and have followed up on the Negroni issue. It turns out one of our new staff members had been over-shaking them with too much ice which would have given it the pink-ish colour and watery taste. We sell a lot of Negronis and have never had a complaint before. The staff member in question is being given further training. Did you happen to mention it to a staff member on the night? If anyone is unhappy with anything in our restaurant let us know there and then so we can fix it for you at the time. We care about the food and beverages we serve and want them to be top notch and are always happy to help. Thank you for dining with us and thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 936 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very friendly inexpensive restaurant with a good variety of italian dishes. You do need to book though, its very popular, especially with large groups.

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Francesca's is an Italian restaurant that is a great value, the quality of the food and selections appeal to a broad spectrum of clientele. The staff is very congenial and the atmosphere is wonderful. It is very popular so I would recommend reservations during the holidays or weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BobandMaryonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Dined here on recommendation from our B and B hosts and we were very impressed - delicious pasta - try the gnocchi! - and fantastic service. A really down-to-earth place and great value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KellieTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi there, Thank you so much for your kind review. I agree with you - the gnocchi is delicious. We hope to see you again one day. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My Husband and I dined here on our honeymoon trip to Nz and were pleasantly delighted with the glasses of sparkling wine that were presented by the matre d along with congratulations, nice touch.. great service. Being big foodies it takes a lot to impress us but the food was simply Devine had we been staying another night we would have returned again it was that good. I am originally a kiwi and have dined at some of the best NZ restaurants and Francesca's is certainly up there among them. Advance bookings a MUST FYI.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarahja73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hello there, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your meals.
We really appreciate the feedback. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Kitchen also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing