We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”

Francesca's Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Francesca's for our anniversary and things started out really well with yummy starters (polenta sticks and mozzarella salad) and well priced and delicious Italian wine.

Unfortunately the positive experience ended here as for our mains I was served burnt, yet gooey, gnocchi and my husband got a lacklustre and unseasoned plate of pasta with anchovies. We left most of our mains on the plate but none of our 3(!) different servers did ask us how our meal was.

To finish the night off was a 20 minute wait for a cup of tea and a hot chocolate as they were forgotten. The server was very apologetic but it did leave us with a negative impression of this really cosy and nice place that we had expected much more from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bapplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Hi Bapplo, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you had a disappointing meal with us.
The gnocchi is one of our most popular dishes and I can only assume that something went wrong on the night, or the dishes were not what you were expecting. Our gnocchi is soft on the inside but is cooked in the sauce to caramelise the outside a little. However, it should never be burnt and I do apologise if this was the case.
From your description it sounds like your husband had the orecchiette with broccoli, anchovies, chilli, garlic and reggiano. This is a very simple dish but if it was not to your taste we could have done something about it if you had said something on the night.
Having to wait 20 minutes for a hot chocolate and tea is simply inexcusable and should not have happened.
We do strive to give people good food and service and it is upsetting on the rare times when this does not happen.
Sometimes it is not always obvious that someone is not enjoying their meal but you should have been asked if everything was OK. If you are dissatisfied with any part of your meal please always bring it to the attention of the staff so we can look after you on the night and try to fix things then and there. We are very happy to do this and this will have a more positive outcome than you leaving the restaurant unhappy.
Our staff are aware of this review and we have asked them to take your comments on board to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Kind regards, Belinda Stapley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,094 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

On a cold Sunday night, the restaurant is full, some people are huddled around the outside fires, and people are regularly being turned away. Perhaps it's the #1 ranking, but clearly the word has spread about this gem of an Italian restaurant, in a great location in the heart of the town. The food is great, there is a good selection of Italian and NZ wines, and the service is friendly and professional - there is even an Italian server! The pizzas have been well known for months but there is a great selection of temptations on the menu, all served in an attractive manner and without waiting too long, even when the place is full. It's a little noisy when the doors are closed on a cold night, but that's a small price to pay, especially when the bill arrives and the whole experience proves to be very affordable. Highly recommended, and this will be a popular place for months to come, so you'll likely need to book.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IanfromRAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Hi IanfromRAK, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words.
We do hope to see you again one day. Cheers, Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

At last an real italian kitchen, the food is amazing, nice italian wine, the staff very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed and enjoyable. I went there for a birthday lunch with friends and I went back few days later with my family for dinner, because was soooo gooood !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marisol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi Marisol, Thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate a lovely lunch here on a Sunday afternoon, sharing the venison pepperoni pizza. We started with the polenta fries with truffle aioli, which were just divine. The waitress who served us was lovely ,and even brought generous tasting portions to help in the selection of an italian red - highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Hi Alicia, Thanks for dining with us and for taking the time to write a nice review. We do like to offer tasters of the glass pour wines for those who can't quite decide what to have. The polenta fries are proving to be very popular. Thanks again, Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was Easter, and we were only able to book an outside table, but that was fine - the nights were still warm enough, and the restaurant is alongside a stream slightly off the main drag. Obviously popular across a wide clientele, the feature was a large wood fired pizza oven and very attentive friendly staff (on saying in passing it was my wife's birthday she got a candle on her dessert!). The food was authentic, and although I just had a delicious hot-smoked salmon pizza (enough for breakfast as well), my wife's risotto was unusual and very tasty. The selection of New Zealand and Italian wines was extensive. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Hi Gerry, Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to write a nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and the wine. We hope to see you again one day. Thanks, Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Kitchen also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing