We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening”

Francesca's Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The food was delicious and the service and atmosphere were second to none. We will be visiting again soon

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Jeannie Y, Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    285
    76
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went at Francesca's for lunch after being unable to get a table for dinner and were very glad we made the effort.
Service was prompt but not intrusive and the food was fantastic, I think the Tartufo pizza was the most authentic I have had since we were in Italy with a thin base and good quality ingredients.
The Cannoli was also lovely and it was a nice to see italian wine and beer on the drinks menu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntipodeanAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi AntipodeanAnn, Thanks for your review and kind words. We wanted to offer a good selection of Italian and local beer and wines and I'm really glad you enjoyed them. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Recommendation from a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were sitting down at the shores of the lake when we struck up a conversation with a local who was out walking his dog.

Conversation went to restaurants and he strongly recommended Francesca's . As it was mid afternoon we walked over and were quite pleased with the atmosphere and location.

I had a delicious salmon salad for a starter and we both shared a thin crust pizza that was delicious and thin crusted as well not the usual doughy stuff back home.

I would recommend this for lunch or dinner staff appeared to be very busy due to number of patrons but were very pleasant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Bill T. Thanks for your lovely review. We really appreciate these kind words and are grateful that you took the time to write them. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We usually never eat out in Wanaka as we have not had great dining experiences here; poor service, value for money etc. Francesca's is definitely a place we will go back to, the menu is interesting, the food very good, the service excellent and at last a restaurant which is not outrageously over priced. All this will encourage locals to return often. One should remember to always get a reservation. We loved the decor, warm, cosy and inviting, however a pretty loud room acoustically. Thanks Francesca for opening your restaurant in Wanaka, we wish you every success.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janpaul42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi JanPaul42,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. That is high praise indeed. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A taste of Italy in wanaka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing night out here and it really is a MUST in wanaka. The friendly and amazing service, the phenomenal food and the atmosphere made for a brilliant night! Will definitely be going back there again and again!

Helpful?
Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Leigh,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again in the future. I'm so glad you have an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Kitchen also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing