We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, great atmosphere and good value”

Francesca's Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 86 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal, great atmosphere and good value”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had and excellent experience. Excellent pizza and at a very good price (about $25 a head). The green salad was a little disappointing as it wasnt really a salad as it was just a bowl of lettuce but was nicely seasoned with a great dressing so it sort of made up for it. but would have been nice to have some other things in the salad. atmosphere is great although a little noisy with lots of hard surfaces which could be reduced with some noise reduction panels etc. But overall one of the best in Wanaka. WIll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quentin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Quentin,
Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant. We really appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed your meal.
I have noted your comments on the salad and will ask the wait staff to explain it better to customers in the future as it really is just a green salad of dressed salad leaves for those wanting a bit of greenery on the side.
Thanks for the comments. We do appreciate this sort of feedback as it does help us to improve our overall dining experience.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    293
    76
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent a lovely evening here.. The food was different and delicious.. The pizzas were lovely and the staff were very happy to mix the toppings around to suit our children.. My husband had the gnocchi which he claims was superb and I had the prawn pizza... Also very delicious. The salad and entree were also worthy of high praise.... My only complaint, if it really is one, is that the service was so good with the staff tending to hover a little bit... One waitress attempting to take my almost finished glass away before I had finished! It is very reasonably priced for what it is. A nice grassy area outside for the kids to play on while waiting for dinner was a bonus! Definitely a return visit or us..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maw2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Maw2251.
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your kind review. We are glad you had a great night and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real Authentic Italian”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a fantastic meal here on the 2nd of January. The Polenta Chips were a great way to start the meal and the Duck Ragu was fantastic. I love that they serve their own wine (they make it themselves I believe) in carafs.

The restaurant itself has great ambience, I love the homemade lights and the smell coming from the woodfire oven really gets you in the mood for some italian!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Scott,
Thanks for taking the time to review the restaurant.
We appreciate your feedback and I agree, the polenta fries are outstanding. Yum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This restaurant is absolutely amazing. The food, the service, the wine, the atmosphere, and value is excellent. Could not fault a thing.
In my opinion the best restaurant in Wanaka! definitely a must.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Jen,
Thanks for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed your meal at Francesca's and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a few teething problems ...”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Francesca's has a lovely atmosphere and is the sort of restaurant that Wanaka has been crying out for (far too many of the same lamb and beef dishes around these parts). Teething problems include staff not knowing what many of the Italian ingredients on the menu were, and having nowhere for a group of diners to wait for their booking - leaving us stranded awkwardly waiting in the middle of the restaurant!! But overall, the service was excellent, the food delicious, authentic and extremely reasonably priced for Wanaka standards, and the little touches such as a the vino carafes and the lighting made the dining experience very enjoyable!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamrachaelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Rachael,
I'm glad you enjoyed your meal when you came to dine with us.
We have only been open a few weeks and I thank you for bringing some teething problems to our attention. We really want to provide a memorable dining experience so we will definitely take these on board so we can improve our service all round.
The staff are being further schooled on the Italian ingredients as we speak. We are encouraging them to try all the dishes and really familiarize themselves with the menu so they have first hand experience of the ingredients and can pass that on to our guests.
We are now implementing a plan for an area to seat people while they wait for their tables when we are busy. I have my eye on some seating that should suit this purpose perfectly.
We do hope to see you again and I thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Kitchen also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing