We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service by manager”

Florences Foodstore & Cafe
Ranked #25 of 84 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service by manager”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Busy wee place, but terrible customer service. Very long wait for food and told when asked how long it may be to use common sense and work it out as they are busy. Could have been handled politely but unfortunately not. Such a shame as the table staff were lovely.

Helpful?
1 Thank JenJen8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments and our apologies that your experience was one star out of five. We were indeed busy that day, in fact, the busiest day of the year so far.
You are right in that my' table staff are lovely'. They are also competent and efficient. Most have been at Florences since the beginning, so we must be doing something right.
However I definitely will have a word to the Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    53
    11
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Travelling from Queenstown to Wanaka over the Crown road, we came upon a lovely French rustic cafe - perfect for a quick lunch stop! My travelling companions are Indonesian and love spicy food - to their great credit, the staff did their best to adapt the dishes for a spicier palate. The building and setting is lovely, as is the little shop attached. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank You Paul for taking the time out to thank my staff for your experience involving your guests. I am very proud of them and thrilled they went the extra mile for you - they do tend to do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

best coffee in town, warm welcome - we were there right on opening for breakfast. Fire was inviting, as was aroma from kitchen. Staff superb - felt like friends.

We went for a simple breakfast of coffee and bagels - both spot on, and served with generous quantity of cream cheese and jam.

We'll be there again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
God bless you - we remember you well - lots of laughs.

Thank you for taking the time out to review us.

Do come backagain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice spot for coffee”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had coffee here with a friend and my baby. It is well set up to cater to children (toy box, highchair that attaches to table, outdoor sandpit) without being all about kids. The food store area is amazing - so many interesting products to buy (my favourite is the rainbow pasta). I'm keen to come back for lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Great lunch. Awesome coffee and hot chocolate. Excellent kids menu. Left with yummy chutneys. Will b back

Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you - we look forward to your return the next time you are in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florences Foodstore & Cafe also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Florences Foodstore & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing