We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit Cafe and Foodstore in Wanaka”

Florences Foodstore & Cafe
Ranked #27 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Must visit Cafe and Foodstore in Wanaka”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Everything is just right with this beautiful cafe - wonderful setting and environment, really delicious food and great coffee. Adding to the experience is the foodstore, stocked with incredibly tempting ingredients and products - Interesting international items as well as lots that is fresh and local. Adding to the x factor is the wonderfully warm and friendly service. This was such a relaxing and pleasurable experience in such a pretty setting we were reluctant to leave but, having enjoyed a great brunch at the cafe, we also took food with us for our drive up to Mt Cook. (Much better than anything we could have found en route). We will certainly be returning any time we are in Wanaka.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 366OrrFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    53
    11
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Florence's French - fabulously fantastic....”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a lovely place to have a coffee or eat some delicious food! Whilst you wait you can peruse the fabulous range of imported and local deli ingredients to take home and create your own wonderful food.

The danishes are delicious and reminiscent of that fabulous French taste, not too big and very moreish. The lunch food ranges from lovely cabinet options to a small menu of daily specials.

The setting is very comfortable, lots of different options, from formal dining, to casual outside lounge on the grass by the sandpit. If you were after something more intimate they have that too with an indoor table with cushions and a huge pile of current magazines - I could stay all day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirstinkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Florence's is thrilled you had a great experience. We look forward to our return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One to remember”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This cafe is situated outside Wanaka but worth the effort to visit.
Lovely peaceful haven, outside tables in pretty garden with sandpit and grassed area, great for children.
Inside attractively presented area for eating, wonderful gourmet foods to purchase and freezer of home cooked meals perfect for visitors to take back to self catering accommodation.
Thought the bite size treats a great idea, brings back memories of Italian delights.
We only popped in for a late afternoon coffee so I can't comment on food but there looked to be an interesting choice available, hence my very good rating. Will be back to eat sometime then can update review. Will certainly return

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was wonderful to discover Florence’s cafe and foodstore. A fantastic setting, a child friendly garden with herbs and flowers all around with the interior a very comfortable and rustic space with plenty to look at whist waiting for your meal. The food here is simple and good, freshly made and portion sizes which are just right. I strongly recommend a visit to anyone in Wanaka.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiratePickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food and coffee.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great spot to have lunch as a traveller passing through, but I was so pleased to see lots of locals enjoying the ambience.
On a very chilly summer day, it was so comfy to walk into a warm, aromatic and inviting Florence's Cafe with delicious food and friendly staff

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubalooSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florences Foodstore & Cafe also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Florences Foodstore & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing