We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational hospitality and a wonderful place to lay your head at night”
Review of Te Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #18 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sensational hospitality and a wonderful place to lay your head at night”
Reviewed May 29, 2009

What a wonderful, wonderful place! Mandy and Wayne go out of their way to make sure that every guest has a fabulous time at their place and feels welcome. The rooms are well made up with many great ammenities provided. Breakfast each morning is quite the feast (especially the French toast!) and will set you up well for the day. The hot tub in the garden is well utilized and is the perfect end to a great day, especially with a glass of wine from the "honesty bar". They also have many recommendations of where to eat in town and the best places to visit. I can not recommend staying here highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieUNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
We are absolutely delighted that we were able to provide you with the perfect stay! We enjoy making sure our guests feel at home and we love sharing our place with them. Hopefully we will see you again oneday. (and yes, I love it when Wayne brings breakfast into the office - YUM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    87
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
170
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

The best web site and worst place we stayed in of 13 over 22 days. Adequate, but their web site is so deceiving. Makes the "Lodge" feel like a quaint place semi-rustic romatic place in the mountains. Thier web site had us expecting Te Wanaka Lodge to be the probable highlingt of our trip. We supposedly had one of the best rooms in the place . . . wall to wall bed with a straight backed chair in the corner. Bathroom would freakout anyone with clautrophobia. Mediocre breakfast; wine on sale at an honor bar--a thimble sized glass for about the price of 3/4 of a bottle of the same wine at a nearby grocery store. The owners were very pleasant people. The public areas were comfy and the location was very convenient, but at $200 NZ it was grossly overpriced for what this property had to offer. And to think that we almost had decided to book for two nights based on the appeal of their web site!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Front Office Manager at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for you feedback. We are very sorry that we didn't meet your requirements and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Great place and the host are very lovely.Got speacial discount for being a honeymooner.

Breakfast choice for veges are less but liked the setup very much.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit_199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
We were delighted to host you on your honeymoon.
Please note - if our guests inform us of their dietary requirements before arrivig we are only to happy to cater to their desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We were lucky to be able to spend a night here, would have stayed for two if they had had rooms available. From Mandy on the phone to her husband Wayne to their breakfast cook Debbie, we were extremely pleased with our stay and loved the town as well. Helpful on what to do, hot tub on site and massages available with a phone call. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandtheBeanstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and wish that we could of hosted you for longer. We love being able to share our local knowledge with our guests and find it a real buzz when we suggest something we think they may like and hit the nail on the head.
Hopefully we will see you again one day - and for longer than 1 night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

It seems not to be everyone's cup of tea... but we loved Wanaka. A quiet lakeside hub, offering wonderful access to the glorious Mount Aspiring National Park, we enjoyed every moment of our summer stay here. The Lodge is a lovely, laid back, place only a few minutes walk from the Lake. Everything has been well thought-through, the rooms, although a little compact, are neatly organised, will plenty of light, flat screen tvs, spotless bathrooms and everything you need. There's a hot tub in the courtyard, which you can sign up to enjoy, an honesty system for bar goods and computer. Fresh tea and coffee available all day and night (even chocolate cake when we were there) and some warm communal lounges to relax and drink it in. This really is a lodge rather than a hotel in that sense, and those hunting for big rooms and big views will be disappointed. But if you like the friendly touches, you'll like it here. A good welcome from the owners, with plenty of advice (and maps) on local walks (Diamond Lake.... wonderful views!) and restaurants (can't recommend The White House enough....). There's a really quirky cinema, Cinema Paradiso, just around the corner too - where you enjoy your film whilst sitting on a sofa (or even a morris minor) whilst munching homemade cookies.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sedickenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

The welcome was pleasant enough and the Lodge is well located.
Our biggest complaint is the rooms. They are tiny with very limited cupboard space. Two racks were provided for suitcases but there was insufficient space to utilise them.
The accommodation is two storey and we had a ground floor room. We suffered dreadfully from noise upstairs after 10pm. The occupants used their shower around 1130 pm and it was as if they were in our room with us. We then heard every footstep during the night. We did not sleep well.
Breakfast was good and the staff friendly. There was WiFi but at a charge.
However due to the accommodation issues I cannot recommend this Lodge or describe it as luxurious as advertised. I was also not overly impressed with Wanaka which seems to be 10 % more expensive than everywhere else we visited on the South Island.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
We appreciate your review, and are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Te Wanaka Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We booked our stay based upon the reviews on this site and The Rough Guide, not sure what went wrong with some previous reviews as we found the place to be great. We booked over the internet and asked a few questions as well and we always received a prompt response.

The property is easy to find as Wanaka is fairly small, well located within minutes of the lake shore and its restaurants and bars. Upon check in we were shown to our room and the place in general. The room was perhaps a little small but had a really comfortable bed and a good sized a bathroom. Downstairs is a guest lounge and an honesty bar which we liked the informality of. Internet is also available the same way. However we were not charged perhaps because we only used 15 mins. Outside in the garden area there is also a hot tub that can be booked for 30 minute slots and is out of site. The breakfast in the morning was cooked freshly as we helped ourselves to numerous cold items and was very good.

We found the hosts to be very helpful in providing information, even going as far to suggest a more interesting route over to Dunedin and then from there a shortcut on the way to Mt Cook. Great place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesecreteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Property: Te Wanaka Lodge
Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing