We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly & relaxing”
Review of Te Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #16 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Warm, friendly & relaxing”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a great European chalet feel to the place with a filling cooked breakfast, cake and Swedish style hot tub after skiing, wooden beams and lovely fire. Great location, just a few minutes walk from the town and lake. Our host, Cheryl was very friendly & helpful. Definitely recommend staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are proud of the property and it's nice to see you enjoy this as much as we do. Cheryl is a wonderful addition the the property, with home cooked breakfasts and the gorgeous chocolate or lemon cake she makes in the afternoon. Also the Cedar hot-tub is a wonderful way to relax after a hard days skiing or walking.
We sure hope to see you back soon.

Regards,
Wayne and Mandy Enoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    88
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
171
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Te Wanaka Lodge is a wonderful experience. The location is perfectly ideal set one minutes walk from downtown. Rooms are warm, clean and full of natural light. I could of taken the mattress home with me it was so comfortable. Breakfast is a a spread of cereals, fresh fruit, toast and the most delicious hot eggs benedict! Tea and coffee are on all day and delicious cake and soup is served apres ski.

The best part of the lodge are the owners Wayne & Mandy and their mom Sharol. They could not be more warm and kind. If you want to feel at home while away this is the place for you. I'm missing it already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraQuitiquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. It's always nice to meet people and exceed their expectations and for them to understand the true homely feel of Te Wanaka Lodge. It was a pleasure looking after you and welcoming you into our home. I sure hope you are back this way to catch up with your kiwi family. Get well and hope Chile is fantastic (I'm sure it will be)
Regards,
Wayne and Mandy Enoka and the boys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Te Wanaka Lodge is compact, cosy, comfortable and affordable. Substantial continental and cooked breakfasts are available and are included in the price.
Owners Wayne and Mandy Enoka are experienced and charming hosts. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend Te Wanaka Lodge to any weary traveller as a great stopover.

Ric Georgeson

Room Tip: I stayed 5 nights and checked out other accommodation also. I found Te Wanaka Lodge offered the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the review. It was a pleasure hosting you for your stay and glad to see you enjoyed the hospitality. We are happy to see you enjoyed the true feel of Te Wanaka Lodge and the great breakfasts in the morning.
Regards,
Wayne and Mandy Enoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfour, Southland, N Z
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great place to stay. Very friendly and helpful. Staff took time to chat. Food was fantastic. Cake and soup available after skiing. Breakfast amazing. Plently of places to sit with friends and relax. Tea and coffee available anytime of day. The room was warm, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you. I hope the break away just recharged the batteries a little. Great to see you enjoyed the Apres Ski freshly made each week and if you are down this way again, you are more than welcome to come back for the Lamb Shanks and Sticky Date Pudd.
Regards,
Wayne and Mandy Enoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Road closures to Queenstown meant we needed accomodation in Wanaka and quickly!
We pulled in at 9pm and Wayne was so happy to help us, lent us phone chargers, offered us some homemade cake anf checked us into a lovely little room just perfect for us, all at a very reasonable rate.
We are so lucky that we found Te Wanaka Lodge.
We were blown away by your hospitality and kindness.
Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadiLionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank lyou for the review and it's a pleasure we could help. We try to exceed everyones expectations and it was lovely that you gad recognised this. I hope the rest of the holiday was interrupted and you got some good skiing in.
Regards,
Wayne and Mandy Enoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a great b&b experience. We travelled to NZ with our four teenage sons and stayed in Wanaka to ski in Cardrona. Cheryl was helpful, friendly and highly professional, so we felt like we were staying in her home but were incredibly comfortable without any of the formalities of a big hotel. We loved our weekend here and would definitely come back. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a more personal experience from their accommodation without giving up any of the luxury comforts you may be looking for.
Alex

Room Tip: All our rooms were excellent (we had three)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the homeliness of Te Wanaka Lodge. Cheryl really enjoyed her time hosting the family. We look forward to hosting you and your family, should you ever venture to the South Island again.
Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Even was short was a wonderful stay. Late walk-in,no reservation. We were aleady losing hope to find a place with reception still on duty til we found this beautiful place and even hot tub available ;)!!!!
Room was clean,cozy and very comfy bed
Next morning I met very attentive Wayne who helped me with brekfast. Variety of teas, fruits, juice, coffe and more..
I recommend this place. Hope to come back soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alita_Monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Alita,
Thanks for enjoying Te Wanaka Lodge. It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we do hope to see you again.
Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Property: Te Wanaka Lodge
Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing